Posted in Book Review, Books I have read, Five Star Reads

The Truth About Melody Browne – Lisa Jewell

Woman's Fiction 5*'s
Woman’s Fiction

I have to start this review by saying I don’t know how I ever managed to miss reading this one, after all it was published in 2009, but better late than never!

I love Lisa Jewell’s style of writing, the way she draws you into the story is fantastic and like her more recent books, despite the girly cover this is no ordinary chick-lit. The author is able to say such a lot in just a few words, leaving the reader to fill in the gaps and imagine the emotions. This means that the story continues at a pace not slowed by dwelling on any particular event. This is a story about many different small events that build the life that Melody Browne has lost.

Melody Browne is a woman who has no memory of her life before she was 9 and rescued from a fire by her father. Then on her first date for years, something happens which means those childhood memories start floating into her consciousness.

Piece by piece along with Melody we get to hear the facts of her life, and sad doesn’t even come close to describing what the young Melody and her family went through. However whilst not chick-lit nor is this a story of misery, some of the characters that grace the pages of this book are what could accurately be described as ‘real diamonds!’

This story flits backwards and forwards from the adult Melody, living in Covent Garden with her teenage son trying to find out the truth about her early years, and excerpts from the 1970’s when she was a young child.

With plenty of twists and turns I was gripped from the first to the last page. This epitomises an enjoyable read!

The Truth About Melody Browne Amazon UK

Click on the covers to see my reviews of three of Lisa Jewell’s previous books

Before I Met YouThe House We Grew Up InThe Making of Us

Lisa Jewell Novels
• The House We Grew Up In (2013)
• Before I Met You (2012)
• The Making Of Us (2011
• After The Party (2010)
• The Truth About Melody Browne (2009)
• 31 Dream Street (2007)
• Vince and Joy (2005
• A Friend of the Family (2004)
• One Hit Wonder (2001)
• Thirtynothing (2000)
• Ralph’s Party (1999)


A book lover who clearly has issues as obsessed with crime despite leading a respectable life

11 thoughts on “The Truth About Melody Browne – Lisa Jewell

Leave a Reply, I love hearing what you have to say

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.