Posted in Weekly Posts

Musing Monday (December 16)

musingmondays51

Hosted by Should Be Reading
Musing Mondays asks you to muse about one of the following each week…• Describe one of your reading habits.

• Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).

• What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on? Tell us about it!

• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.

• Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!

• Instead of the above questions, maybe you just want to ramble on about something else pertaining to books — let’s hear it, then!

My musing is about physical books versus eBooks.

I have owned a kindle for over three years now, despite resisting and stating that I preferred my books to be real books, once I was given one I was rapidly converted. After all, it is lighter making reading in bed easier, it holds lots of books so travelling is easier and there are some great deals out there. I have never disputed that the lack of sharing books with my friends has diminished or that my innate nosiness about what everyone else is reading has been reduced now most people read on their eReaders in public but these negatives were outweighed by the positives… until this weekend.

I started reading The Truth About Melody Browne by Lisa Jewell when I realised that this was the ‘sort’ of book which was meant to be read in the physical format. Now I can’t give you the reason why this particular book caused this feeling but I also can’t deny that sitting with the book held in both hands, turning the pages felt very different to reading it via my kindle. This is a feeling I have missed.

I suppose the reason why it has taken so long to come to this realisation is because until the Amazon Vine program stopped offering a large number of books in its newsletters my reading was still roughly 50/50 between types but for the last few months the majority of my fiction reading has been on my kindle.

If I’m honest I rarely read away from home, I don’t get the spare time during the day to read a few pages so although my kindle is carted around in my handbag, it rarely gets taken out so for me that part of its convenience is wasted.

I still have a number of physical books that are unread which I now vow to make time to read in 2014 along with a greater appreciation that I still want the choice of both mediums. Plus I really want these cool bookmarks from The Literary Gift Company and that’s not going to happen if I don’t read real books!

crime-fiction-themed-magnetic-mini-bookmarks-11224-p[ekm]249x249[ekm]

Author:

A book lover who clearly has issues as obsessed with crime despite leading a respectable life

8 thoughts on “Musing Monday (December 16)

  1. I had always vowed never to use a Kindle…but then I got one for Christmas three years ago. And I do love certain things about it, like traveling…or just going out, and wanting to have a book along. Love how easy it is to download a book. And the books cost less, without adding to my shelving problem.

    But I still love physical books! Thanks for sharing…and for visiting my blog.

    Like

  2. I love my Kindle dearly, but I also love to read a well-produced book. For me the Kindle sort of replaces paperbacks, not hardbacks. I miss the hardbacks from Vine too. 😦

    Like

    1. There is too much for me not to continue loving my kindle and I do prefer my non-fiction in physical format but I was surprised at the enjoyment I got from reading a ‘proper’ book. Still very annoyed about Vine but I did get lots of good books while it lasted! 😦

      Like

  3. I think you know where I fall on the Kindle vs real book debate . . . 🙂
    I’ve evolved into an attitude of–as long as we’re all reading, what does it really matter HOW we’re reading? As long as the choice is still there, I’ll be happy!

    Like

  4. If I had a kindle, I would buy books that I don’t want in physical form and there are some books you can only get for kindle. They are cheaper. But I will always love physical books, to be able to touch them and hear the pages turn is always better. To have them on your shelf and look at the beautiful covers.

    Like

Leave a Reply, I love hearing what you have to say

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.