Posted in Weekly Posts

This Week in Books (March 9)

This Week In Books

Hosted by Lypsyy Lost & Found my Wednesday post gives you a taste of what I am reading this week. A similar meme is run by Taking on a World of Words

I am currently reading Blackwater by James Henry,  a new police procedural series featuring DI Nick Lowry which is set in 1980s Essex.

Blackwater

You can read the synopsis and excerpts from this book in yesterday’s post.

I have recently finished Mrs Maybrick by Victoria Blake, a short non-fiction book which examines this infamous convicted poisoner.

Mrs Maybrick

Blurb

Florence Maybrick was a 19 year old Alabama belle when she married Liverpool cotton-broker James Maybrick in 1881. She was convicted of his murder in 1889 after arsenic was found in his corpse. However, it was never established whether she administered the poison or whether Maybrick himself took the fatal dose. This Crime Archive title examines the murder, trial and controversy through Home Office files held at The National Archives. Amazon

Next up is No One Knows by J.T. Ellison which is due to be published on 22 March 2016.

No One Knows

Blurb

The day Aubrey Hamilton’s husband is declared dead by the state of Tennessee should bring closure so she can move on with her life. But Aubrey doesn’t want to move on. She just wants Josh back. It’s been five years since he disappeared, since their blissfully happy marriage—they were happy, weren’t they?—screeched to a halt and Aubrey became the prime suspect in his disappearance. Five years of emptiness, solitude, loneliness, questions. Why didn’t Josh show up at his friend’s bachelor party? Who anonymously sent Aubrey her favorite cocktail at the bar where Josh stood her up? Was he murdered? Did he run away? And now, all this time later, who is the mysterious and strangely familiar figure suddenly haunting her new life?
As her heroine faces the possibility that everything she thinks she knows about herself, her marriage, and her husband is a lie, New York Times bestselling author J.T. Ellison expertly peels back the layers of a complex woman who is hiding dark secrets beneath her unassuming exterior. In a masterful thriller for readers who love Gillian Flynn, Liane Moriarty, and Paula Hawkins, Ellison pulls you into a you’ll-never-guess merry-go-round of danger and deception. Round and round and round it goes, where it stops…no one knows. NetGalley

So that’s my reading sorted! What are you reading this week?

 

Author:

A book lover who clearly has issues as obsessed with crime despite leading a respectable life

40 thoughts on “This Week in Books (March 9)

    1. I do have a habit of getting interested in different aspects of crime and once I’d read The Last Woman Hanged the author of Mrs Maybrick (also a book blogger) told me about it!! The book blogging community has introduced me to so many books I’d never have found on my own! Thanks for visiting and leaving your link 🙂

  1. I think Mrs Maybrick sounds interesting too. I’m currently late coming to (and really enjoying it) The Trouble With Sheep and Goats, an excellent first novel by Joanna Cannon. It’s kind of a crime novel, investigating a missing woman, set in suburban 1976. Except that it covers some darker stuff, and the ‘investigators’ are a couple of children hoping to find Jesus. It reminds me a little of the dark and quirky funny territory of Kate Atkinson in Behind The Scenes at The Museum. It is three quarters read and so far has not moved of f ‘going to be 5 star’ territory. Hope it holds firm!

    1. I really need to get a copy of The Trouble With Sheep and Goats, it sounds like just my kind of thing especially as you compare it to Behind The Scenes at the Museum which blew me away when I read it. I hope it holds firm too.

  2. Ah, I also got Mrs Maybrick after Vicky mentioned it, but haven’t read it yet. Love the physical book though – it’s very neat. Looking forward to it! 🙂

  3. Mrs. Maybrick sounds intriguing – I have to agree with all of the other comments to that effect! You do get hold of some obscure books, Cleo, well done for not choosing the obvious.

    I’ve just finished reading Lesser Evils by Joe Flanagan, set in 1950s Cape Cod – a very good police procedural with noir elements, unveiling the corruption and Mafia links of the police at the time, but also featuring child murders, so rather upsetting. I’ve just started Elizabeth Knox ‘Wake’, which is a sort of sci fi crime set in a peaceful New Zealand town visited by zombies. Not at all my usual type of fare, but I have to review it and it sounded so far out of my comfort zone, I thought I had to give it a try! Next one up is a nice, ,quiet meditation on loneliness and anonymity in urban living ‘The Lonely City’ by Olivia Laing. It sounds like the perfect counterpoint to the other two reads.

    1. Thank you Marina – I basically follow where my current interests take me – as you can see 2016 is shaping up to be the year of the poisoner – read two and have another on the TBR!
      I agree that it is important to organise your reads to balance each other out – I do like the sound of Lesser Evils!

Leave a Reply, I love hearing what you have to say

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s