Posted in Book Review, Books I have read, Five Star Reads

Unravelling Oliver – Liz Nugent

Psychological Thriller 5*'s
Psychological Thriller
5*’s

Unravelling Oliver is one of those books that I knew I would love as soon as I started reading it.
‘I expected more of a reaction the first time I hit her.’
These words written by Oliver about what he did to his wife on 12 November 2011 in Dublin. After I had read his words I was chilled, here appears to be a man with no remorse and no motive so what made Oliver batter his wife Alice so badly that she was left in a coma.

The publishers, Penguin Ireland, tell us; ‘Unravelling Oliver, is a complex and elegant study of the making of a sociopath in the tradition of Barbara Vine and Patricia Highsmith,’ and I can’t disagree. As regular readers of my blog know, Barbara Vine was the author who introduced me to the concept of the why someone did it, rather than the whodunit in the mystery novels I already loved and this is a genre which when done well is my favourite type of read.

In this tradition Liz Nugent has employed some of the characters that Oliver Ryan came into contact with during the five decades of his life to reveal small but telling details. Told as if they are giving interviews to the media as monologues, each character gives us a little more insight into Oliver’s character and the events that shaped his life. Barney who was Alice’s boyfriend before Oliver and met him the night he attacked Alice is the first to have his say but there are plenty of others who have encountered Oliver during his life.  Throughout the book Oliver, and others who have met him, unwrap the things he thought he had kept hidden and unravel his life, so that as readers we get an insight into the why of this charismatic, but deeply flawed character.
The originality, cleverness and fantastic characters which peel back the layers of Oliver over the years along with evidence of previous events presented in one way by Oliver and another by alternative narrators was a sheer delight to read.

I am delighted that the publishers gave me a copy of this book in return for my honest review as I wouldn’t have wanted to miss meeting Oliver Ryan, you can meet him too when this book is published on 6 March 2014.

Author:

A book lover who clearly has issues as obsessed with crime despite leading a respectable life

13 thoughts on “Unravelling Oliver – Liz Nugent

  1. I don’t think this is something I would read, but I have a daughter that I’m sure would like it. She likes TV show that dwell into the psyche of people and learns the whys and wherefores that molded them into the kind of person they became.

  2. I really enjoyed it but I can understand why some may choose to pass on this one due to the subject matter. No explicit violence in this book much more about what happened throughout Oliver’s life that led him to act the way he does….

Leave a Reply, I love hearing what you have to say

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s