Posted in Weekly Posts

First Chapter ~ First Paragraph (October 25)

First Chapter
Welcome to another Tuesday celebrating bookish events, from Tuesday/First Chapter/Intros, hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea Every Tuesday, Diane at Bibliophile by the Sea posts the opening paragraph (sometime two) of a book she decided to read based on the opening. Feel free to grab the banner and play along.

The opening paragraph I’ve chosen this week comes from a book due to be published next week in eBook format on 1 November 2016 – My Sister’s Bones by Nuala Ellwood.

my-sisters-bones

Blurb

Kate Rafter is a high-flying war reporter. She’s the strong one. The one who escaped their father. Her sister Sally didn’t. Instead, she drinks.
But when their mother dies, Kate is forced to return to the old family home. And on her very first night she is woken by a terrifying scream. At first she tells herself it’s just a nightmare, a legacy of her time in Syria.
But then she hears it again.
What secret is lurking in her mother’s garden? And can Kate get to the truth…before someone gets to her? NetGalley

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

First Chapter ~ First Paragraph ~ Intro


Part One 1

Herne Bay Police Station Sunday 19 April 2015 10:30 a.m.

‘Would you like me to repeat the question?’
The doctor is speaking, but it’s hard to hear her over the voices.
‘Kate?’ The doctor shifts in her seat.
‘Sorry, can you repeat that?’ I try to focus.
‘Shall I close the window?’ It’s quite noisy out there.’
She goes to stand up but I put my hand out to stop her. She flinches and I realise she may have mistaken my gesture for aggression.
‘No,’ I say as she sits back down awkwardly. ‘It’s fine. I just thought I heard… nothing. It’s nothing.’
I mustn’t tell her about the voices.

Please note this excerpt is from a proof copy

I’m not really quite sure what to expect from this book but apparently it’s twisted!

What do you think? Have you read it? Would you like to? Please leave your thoughts in the comments box below.

Author:

A book lover who clearly has issues as obsessed with crime despite leading a respectable life

30 thoughts on “First Chapter ~ First Paragraph (October 25)

  1. I can’t say this does anything for me. I would read on before making a final judgement but I see nothing here to lift it above the crowd. Hearing voices is nothing new.

    Like

  2. Hmm…this does sound interesting, Cleo. And I can see what you mean about not being exactly sure where the book is going from here. I’m certainly interested enough to want to know what you thought of it when you’ve finished.

    Like

Leave a Reply, I love hearing what you have to say

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.