Posted in Weekly Posts

This Week in Books (October 26)

This Week In Books

Lypsyy Lost & Found my Wednesday post gives you a taste of what I am reading this week. A similar meme is run by Taking on a World of Words

I have just started reading My Sister’s Bones by Nuala Ellwood which is billed an accomplished page-turning thriller. After a break from the twisted world of psychological thrillers I am just in the right frame of mind to go on this journey.

my-sisters-bones

For the synopsis and an excerpt please see yesterday’s post

I have just finished For All Our Sins by T.M.E. Walsh which is the first in the DCI Claire Winters series. This book was first published in 2011, has had a re-write for eBook format and was published in paperback form on 6 October 2016.

for-all-our-sins

Blurb

Years ago there was a silent witness to an act of evil. Now, a twisted killer is on the loose fuelled by revenge.
Called to the brutal murder of a priest, it is immediately clear to DCI Claire Winters that the victim’s death was prolonged, agonising…and motivated by a lust for revenge.
The killer has been clever, there are no clues, no leads. But Claire Winters has never let a killer remain on the streets. Looking for an answer at any cost Claire begins to get closer to the victim’s family, but what it reveals turns her murder case into something far more sinister…
When one body becomes two, and then three, Claire finds herself in a race against time to connect the dots between a host of devastating secrets, before the killer strikes again. Amazon

Next I am planning on reading The Museum of You by Carys Bray a book that I picked because of the wealth of excellent reviews my fellow book bloggers wrote when it was published back in June this year – I’m really looking forward to this one.

The Museum of You

Blurb

Clover Quinn was a surprise. She used to imagine she was the good kind, now she’s not sure. She’d like to ask Dad about it, but growing up in the saddest chapter of someone else’s story is difficult. She tries not to skate on the thin ice of his memories.
Darren has done his best. He’s studied his daughter like a seismologist on the lookout for waves and surrounded her with everything she might want – everything he can think of, at least – to be happy.
What Clover wants is answers. This summer, she thinks she can find them in the second bedroom, which is full of her mother’s belongings. Volume isn’t important, what she is looking for is essence; the undiluted bits: a collection of things that will tell the full story of her mother, her father and who she is going to be.
But what you find depends on what you’re searching for. Amazon

What do you think of my choices? Have you read any of these? Please leave your links and comments in the box below and make my day!

Author:

A book lover who clearly has issues as obsessed with crime despite leading a respectable life

40 thoughts on “This Week in Books (October 26)

  1. I really love the line ‘Volume isn’t important what she is looking for is essence …’ and I like the title Museum of You. Very interested to know what that one is like.

  2. You’ve got some good ones there, Cleo. I’ve hear a lot of positive things about The Museum of You, too, so I’m particularly interested in what you think of that one. It certainly sounds like an engaging read.

  3. The cover for The Museum of You looks really lovely and the plot sounds interesting! Adding it to my tbr now. And I hope you enjoy your other books. 🙂

  4. The Museum of you seems to be dividing opinion. I too have it somewhere buried in my TBR list, so look forward to hearing your thoughts on it. I’ve just finished the rather heartwarming and heart-breaking The Tobacconist by Robert Seethaler, am currently reading lots of poetry and plan to embark on a true crime account The Scholl Case.

  5. The title and the tagline for My Sister’s Bone are perfect. I want to read it even though I haven’t checked the synopsis yet! I wanted to read The Museum of You but the sad tone of the story has made me put it off. Maybe next year! I hope you enjoy it 🙂 Happy reading Cleo!

Leave a Reply, I love hearing what you have to say

