Posted in Weekly Posts

Teaser Tuesday (February 24)

Kindle,jpg

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

Grab your current read
Open to a random page
Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My teaser this week is from The Kind Worth Killing by Peter Swanson

The Kind Worth Killing

Blurb

‘Hello there.’
I looked at the pale, freckled hand on the back of the empty bar seat next to me in the business class lounge of Heathrow airport, then up into the stranger’s face.
‘Do I know you?’
Delayed in London, Ted Severson meets a woman at the airport bar. Over cocktails they tell each other rather more than they should, and a dark plan is hatched – but are either of them being serious, could they actually go through with it and, if they did, what would be their chances of getting away with it?
Back in Boston, Ted’s wife Miranda is busy site managing the construction of their dream home, a beautiful house out on the Maine coastline. But what secrets is she carrying and to what lengths might she go to protect the vision she has of her deserved future?
A sublimely plotted novel of trust and betrayal, The Kind Worth Killing will keep you gripped and guessing late into the night. NetGalley

My Teaser

Lily was late, and as I slowly sipped my Guiness, I became convinced she was not going to show up. I felt a strange combination of relief and disappointment. If I never saw Lily again my life would return to normal. Could I honestly say I would still murder my wife without her help and her encouragement?

What do you think? Are you keen to know more?

Please share your teasers in the comments box below.

Author:

A book lover who clearly has issues as obsessed with crime despite leading a respectable life

33 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday (February 24)

  1. That’s certainly a compelling passage, Cleo! And I think Marina Sofia’s right; it does sound quite Strangers on a Train… I want to know what happens next.

    Like

  2. Sounds like we all know where this one’s going. I just read one of his books, The Girl With a Clock for a Heart. You can see my review on my blog. I do have this book and will be reading it shortly. Sounds like it will be good and I look forward to reading it soon.
    sherry @ fundinmental My TT

    Like

    1. I nearly got a copy of The Girl With A Clock for a Heart when it was published but didn’t, I will be now. From your review there are many of the elements that you enjoyed in that one in this book too. I’m addicted!

      Like

      1. I nearly bought that too (surprise!) but I remember getting The Boy Who Wasn’t There Instead. Re all the Strangers On A Train comments, I think I read in a review that the woman in the bar had a copy of Two Faces Of January, as a nod to Patricia Highsmith (who I absolutely loved – I got a copy of her short stories, one I haven’t read, in a charity shop for 50p last week!)

        Like

  3. My first thought was “Strangers on a Train!” I’m curious though how the author made the familiar story line his own. Sounds intriguing.

    Like

  4. The answer would definitely be yes, great teaser! Sounds like an intriguing story and a very creepy guy to be wanting to kill his wife with the help of a complete stranger… Makes me want to know more!

    Here’s my teaser.

    Like

Leave a Reply, I love hearing what you have to say

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.