Posted in Weekly Posts

Teaser Tuesday (December 9)

Kindle,jpg

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

Grab your current read
Open to a random page
Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My teaser this week is from One, Two, Buckle My Shoe by the Queen of Crime, Agatha Christie

One Two Buckle My Shoe

Blurb

A dentist lies murdered at his Harley Street practice…
The dentist was found with a blackened hole below his right temple. A pistol lay on the floor near his outflung right hand. Later, one of his patients was found dead from a lethal dose of local anaesthetic. A clear case of murder and suicide. But why would a dentist commit a crime in the middle of a busy day of appointments?
A shoe buckle holds the key to the mystery. Now – in the words of the rhyme – can Poirot pick up the sticks and lay them straight? Amazon

My Teaser 

“Now this morning, I’ve got a most important man coming – Alistair Blunt!”
Poirot, prohibited from speech by several rolls of cotton wool and a glass tube that gurgled under his tongue, made an indeterminate noise.

Not a lot to go on this week but it does illustrate that dentists have persisted talking to their patients through the decades.
Please share your teasers in the comments box below.

Author:

A book lover who clearly has issues as obsessed with crime despite leading a respectable life

54 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday (December 9)

  1. Oh, Cleo, I’m so delighted you’re reading this! Of course, I’m a die-hard Christie fan, so I’m biased. But even so, I think this one is a good ‘un, and I’ll be interested in what you think.

    Like

  2. OMG, the timing! I am going to be in the dentist’s chair this afternoon, while he probes and does all kinds of horrific things…I can think of this book while I’m there! LOL. Thanks for sharing…and thanks for visiting my blog.

    Like

  3. Mr Crimeworm HAD a dental appointment today, but cancelled it as he’s a big woose! Am I the only person who doesn’t mind the dentist? I don’t, like, love it (that would be weird!) but I don’t bother about it…got to be done!

    Like

  4. My current read is on the front seat of my car. So here’s one from my last read (Excuse the profanity.):
    “‘I think the assistant U.S. attorney has her head up her ass, that’s what I think. They should’ve assigned the case to somebody with some fucking balls.'”
    ~ “Something About You” by Julie James

    Like

Leave a Reply, I love hearing what you have to say

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.