Posted in Weekly Posts

WWW Wednesday (December 10)

WWW Wednesday green

Hosted by Miz B at Should be Reading

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions… • What are you currently reading? • What did you recently finish reading? • What do you think you’ll read next? I am currently reading The Missing One by Lucy Atkins which was selected for me on the reader’s poll on 21 November 2014 The Missing One The Blurb

The loss of her mother has left Kali McKenzie with too many unanswered questions. But while clearing out Elena’s art studio, she finds a drawer packed with postcards, each bearing an identical one-line message a Canadian gallery owner called Susannah Gillespie: thinking of you. Who is this woman and what does she know about Elena’s hidden past? Desperate to find out, Kali travels with her toddler, Finn, to Susannah’s isolated home on a remote British Columbian island, a place of killer whales and storms. But as bad weather closes in, Kali quickly realises she has made a big mistake. The handsome and enigmatic Susannah refuses to talk about the past, and as Kali struggles to piece together what happened back in the 1970s, Susannah’s behaviour grows more and more erratic. Most worrying of all, Susannah is becoming increasingly preoccupied with little Finn . . . A tense, thrilling novel about a family divided by secrets, and the lengths a mother will go to protect her child. Amazon

I have just finished One, Two, Buckle My Shoe by Agatha Christie. In my mind you can’t beat a little bit of Poirot with his little grey cells. My review will follow shortly One Two Buckle My Shoe Next I am planning on losing myself in the 500+ pages of  The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters The Paying Guests Blurb

It is 1922, and London is tense. Ex-servicemen are disillusioned, the out-of-work and the hungry are demanding change. And in the south of the city, on genteel Champion Hill, in a hushed Camberwell villa still recovering from the devastating losses of the First World War, life is about to be transformed. Widowed Mrs Wray and her daughter, Frances – an unmarried woman with an interesting past, now on her way to becoming a spinster – find themselves obliged to take in lodgers. The arrival of Lilian and Leonard Barber, a modern young couple of the ‘clerk class’, brings unsettling things with it: gramophone music, colour, fun. Open doors offer Frances glimpses of the newcomers’ habits, sounds travel from their rooms to hers, and the staircase and landing have never seemed to her so busy. As she and Lilian are drawn into an unexpected friendship, loyalties begin to shift. Secrets are confessed, dangerous desires admitted; the most ordinary of lives, it seems, can explode into passion and drama. And in the house on Champion Hill, no one can foresee just how far the disturbances will reach. A love story that is also a crime story, this is vintage Sarah Waters: nail-biting tension, real tenderness, believable characters, and surprises. It is above all a wonderful, compelling tale. Amazon

What are you reading this week?

Author:

A book lover who clearly has issues as obsessed with crime despite leading a respectable life

40 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday (December 10)

  1. Such lovely books you are currently dipping in! I’ve just finished Lauren Beukes’ Broken Monsters – my, what a ride! I’m currently reading Louise Millar’s The Hidden Girl (perfect comfort reading on a cold winter day). And I’ll be embarking next on Katri Lipson’s The Ice Cream Man.

  2. Cleo – So glad you enjoyed One, Two..! And I am really intrigued by The Paying Guests. Such a fascinating premise, and during a really interesting historical era, too. I’m really keen to see what you think of it.

    1. I’ve been saving The Paying Guests until I had less books to review and I’m so looking forward to losing myself in this one – I did love Fingersmith and Tipping The Velvet but I read these quite some year ago now.

  3. I just finished a knitting fiction mystery. Most knitting fictions barely mentions knitting. This book has solid content. I loved every bit. The mystery is not on your gave more brutal but I thought it was well carried out. I got the murderer wrong and was surprised at who it was.

  4. I’ll be interested to hear how you get on with The Paying Guests Cleopatra, I have loved some of Waters books (particularly Fingersmith and Affinity) but others really irritated me (Tipping the Velvet and the Second World War in London one, whose title escapes me) Every author has their own traps, and i thought the two i didn’t like were where she was writing her own traps. I can’t decide on whether to get this one or not

  5. Gosh, with all the good things going around about it, I might just have to give The Paying Guests a shot. It’s one of those books that wouldn’t normally appeal to me, but everyone’s seemed to love it! I hope it’s a delightful journey and can’t wait to hear what you think. 🙂

  6. I’ve only read one Agatha Christie book – Murder at the Vicarage. I liked that one and planned to read more, but my mind just wandered off. Your post reminded me about my plan to read more of her works. 🙂

  7. ooooo The Missing One sounds intriguing! I’m going to have to put that on my TBR list. I hope you enjoy The Paying Guests. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply, I love hearing what you have to say

