Posted in Book Review, Books I have read

Secrets of the Sea House – Elisabeth Gifford

Womens Fiction 3*'s
Womens Fiction
3*’s

When Ruth and Michael move into the Sea House in the Hebrides they are finally realising their dream of opening a guest house and settling into their new home when the macabre discovery of a skeleton of a baby, legs fused like a mermaid, is found buried under the floor boards and disturbs Ruth’s peace of mind.

Ruth is determined to find out more about the baby and the trail soon leads to Reverend Alexander Ferguson who was a previous inhabitant of the house and also had a keen interest in mermaids. The story is divided into chapters narrated by Moira, the Reverend’s maid, Alexander and Ruth all battling their own demons.

I am still unsure about this book, the writing was good but all the way through my head was saying the belief in mermaid or Selkie’s as they are known in Scotland is not credible in the present day. I found I enjoyed Ruth’s story more than Alexander’s who was pompous and with a thinner back story than Ruth’s.

I would try another book by this author as the book clearly had that something special that kept me reading.

Author:

A book lover who clearly has issues as obsessed with crime despite leading a respectable life

Leave a Reply, I love hearing what you have to say

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.