Posted in Weekly Posts

This Week in Books (August 8)

This Week In Books
Hosted by Lipsy Lost & Found my Wednesday post gives you a taste of what I am reading this week. A similar meme is run by Taking on a World of Words

I am currently reading Letters from the Dead by Steve Robinson, a genealogical mystery set in Scotland and India. Letters from the Dead will be published on 14 August 2018.

Blurb

When genealogist Jefferson Tayte is hired to prove the identity of a black sheep in his client’s family tree, he unwillingly finds himself drawn into a murder investigation with nothing more to go on than a 150-year-old letter and a connection to a legendary ruby that has been missing for generations.

As more letters are mysteriously left for him, Tayte becomes immersed in a centuries-old tale of greed, murder and forbidden love that takes his research from the wilds of the Scottish Highlands to the colour and heat of colonial India.

A dark secret is buried in Jaipur, steeped in treachery and scandal. But why is it having such deadly repercussions in the present? Can Tayte find the ruby and prevent the past from repeating itself before it’s too late?

This is the seventh book in the Jefferson Tayte Genealogical Mystery series but it can be enjoyed as a stand-alone story. Amazon

The last book I finished was very different; A Long Goodbye by Anthony Le Moignan is set in the present day and is set in a care home in Cambridge. The main protagonist has been diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. This might make it sound a bit of a gloomy read but I was pleasantly surprised. Anthony Le Moignan is a local Jersey man and I happen to know that this book is on NetGalley for request.

Blurb

Simon, a successful accountant, has a big problem. The biggest of them all. He checks himself into Orchard Care Home whilst still relatively healthy, the youngest resident by decades. He’s confident he cut all ties with the outside world and is untraceable.

Emma, married with no kids, lives, breathes and manages Orchard Care Home; a position her husband, Michael, used to hold in the good old days. But now he’s soared up the company hierarchy she sees so much less of him.

The attraction between carer and resident is instant, but ultimately destined for catastrophe. Alzheimer’s takes no prisoners and Early Onset, it’s most tragic form, is the cruellest of all.

How can Michael feel threatened by Simon? And what future could Emma have with him?

Simon understands less and less, but knows he has to try and run away from time – to somehow beat the ceaseless clock.

A powerful new novel by Anthony Le Moignan that will make you laugh and cry, for fans of Jojo Moyes, Emma Healey and Nicholas Sparks. Amazon

The next book I expect to read is Lady Bette and the Murder of Mr Thynn by Nigel Pickford as I desperately try to reach at least 15 books for my 20 Books of Summer challenge!

Blurb

Lady Bette, the 14-year-old heiress to the vast Northumberland estates, becomes the victim of a plot by her grandmother, the Countess Howard, to marry her to the dissolute fortune-hunter Thomas Thynn, a man three times her age with an evil reputation. Revolted by her new husband, Lady Bette flees to Holland. Within weeks, Thynn is gunned down in the street by three hired assassins.

Who is behind the contract killing? Is it the Swedish Count Coningsmark, young and glamorous with blond hair down to his waist? Or is it a political assassination as the anti-Catholic press maintains? Thynn was, after all, a key player in the Protestant faction to exclude the Catholic James, Duke of York, as his brother Charles II’s successor.

Nigel Pickford creates a world of tension and insecurity, of constant plotting and counter-plotting and of rabid anti-Catholicism, where massive street demonstrations and public Papal burnings are weekly events. The action moves from the great landed estates of Syon and Petworth to the cheap taverns and brothels of London, and finally to Newgate and the gallows – the sporting spectacle of the day. In the process, the book gives us a vivid and deeply researched portrait of Restoration society. Amazon

So what do you think? Any of these beauties take your fancy?

Author:

A book lover who clearly has issues as obsessed with crime despite leading a respectable life

12 thoughts on “This Week in Books (August 8)

  1. I like the Jefferson Tayte series very much, Cleo, so I’ll be interested in what you think of the Robinson. And the PIckford looks very appealing, too. You’re having a good reading week!

    Like

  2. I have had Robinson’s series on my list for quite some time. And he keeps adding to it. Sigh. One day. I am very intrigued by A Long Goodbye. Really, any book that includes Alzheimer’s will draw me in. I don’t love reading about that tragic condition, but having dealt with my parents’ and their conditions, I look for stories that reflect what we might have experienced. I guess it only has to make sense to me. 🙂

    Like

    1. Part of what moved me to read A Long Goodbye, apart from this being written by a local author, was the Alzheimer angle because my mother suffered with dementia. I think you are right we are looking for ‘common truths’ amongst our reading.

      Like

  3. Ooh, I like the idea of Lady Bette! Especially since it’s partly set in Syon, one of my favourite posh estates. I used to live near it when I was down south and often visited just to wander around its park and imagine that the owner (who in my mind bore an uncanny resemblance to a certain Mr Darcy) would meet me there by chance, be struck dumb by my stunning beauty (I mentioned my imagination, didn’t I?), overlook my plebeian background and Glasgow accent, and turn me into a Duchess…

    Like

Leave a Reply, I love hearing what you have to say

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.