Posted in Weekly Posts

First Chapter ~ First Paragraph (May 30)

First Chapter

Welcome to another Tuesday celebrating bookish events, from Tuesday/First Chapter/Intros, hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea Every Tuesday, Diane at Bibliophile by the Sea posts the opening paragraph (sometime two) of a book she decided to read based on the opening. Feel free to grab the banner and play along.

My first paragraph this week comes from Blood Sisters by Jane Corry the author of the very successful My Husband’s Wife.

Blurb

Two women. Two versions of the truth.

Kitty lives in a care home. She can’t speak properly, and she has no memory of the accident that put her here. At least that’s the story she’s sticking to.

Art teacher Alison looks fine on the surface. But the surface is a lie. When a job in a prison comes up she decides to take it – this is her chance to finally make things right.

But someone is watching Kitty and Alison.

Someone who wants revenge for what happened that sunny morning in May.

And only another life will do…

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

First Chapter ~ First Paragraph ~ Intro

September 2016

Alison

Careful. It’s not the size that counts. It’s the sharpness. And the angle. The blade must sing. Not scratch.
I hold the piece of blue glass up to the window light. It’s the same colour as the type you occasionally see in bottles lining old fashioned pharmacies. A clean cut. No sharp bits that need trimming, which is always tricky. So easy to get splinters of glass in your skin or on your clothes.
Or in your mind.

I am intrigued by this one not least because my daughter has already read my copy of this book and highly recommends it so, despite the fact I haven’t got a clue what’s going on with the glass, I can’t wait to read this one for myself.

What do you think? Would you keep reading?

Author:

A book lover who clearly has issues as obsessed with crime despite leading a respectable life

25 thoughts on “First Chapter ~ First Paragraph (May 30)

  1. I’m reading this at the moment. I possibly wouldn’t have picked it up from that first paragraph and it’s very slow to begin with but now it’s become quite unputdownable!!

    Like

  2. I loved My Husband’s Wife, so I definitely want to keep reading this one. Sadly, it is not available for purchase here…yet. But I’ve added it to Goodreads.

    Thanks for sharing…and for visiting my blog.

    Like

  3. It does sound intriguing, Cleo. And I’m really interested in how the glass discussion will fit in with the rest of the story. I look forward to your review.

    Like

  4. Sounds intriguing, but I just abandoned My Husband’s Wife and I’m a little skeptical now. To be fair, though, I abandoned the audio book largely because the narrator was driving me bonkers. maybe I should give the actual book another try, as I own a kindle version, too. You liked it, didn’t you?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply, I love hearing what you have to say

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.