Posted in Weekly Posts

This Week in Books (May 3)

This Week In Books
Hosted by Lipsy Lost & Found my Wednesday post gives you a taste of what I am reading this week. A similar meme is run by Taking on a World of Words

At the moment the book open on my bedside table is Boy A by Jonathan Trigell the next in my Mount TBR 2017 challenge having been purchased in April 2015.

Blurb

A is for Apple. A bad apple? Jack has spent most of his life in juvenile institutions, to be released with a new name, new job, new life.
At 24, he is utterly innocent of the world, yet guilty of a monstrous childhood crime.

To his new friends, he is a good guy with occasional flashes of unexpected violence. To his new girlfriend, he is strangely inexperienced and unreachable. To his case worker, he’s a victim of the system and of media-driven hysteria. And to himself, Jack is on permanent trial: can he really start from scratch, forget the past, become someone else?
Is a new name enough?
Can Jack ever truly connect with his new friends while hiding a monstrous secret? This searing and heartfelt novel is a devastating indictment of society’s inability to reconcile childhood innocence with reality. Amazon

I have just finished The People at Number 9 by Felicity Everett after all who can resist peeking behind the doors of a neighbour?



Blurb

‘Have you met them yet, the new couple?’
When Gav and Lou move into the house next door, Sara spends days plucking up courage to say hello. The neighbours are glamorous, chaotic and just a little eccentric. They make the rest of Sara’s street seem dull by comparison.
When the hand of friendship is extended, Sara is delighted and flattered. Incredibly, Gav and Lou seem to see something in Sara and Neil that they admire too. In no time at all, the two couples are soulmates, sharing suppers, bottles of red wine and childcare, laughing and trading stories and secrets late into the night in one another’s houses.
And the more time Sara spends with Gav and Lou, the more she longs to make changes in her own life. But those changes will come at a price. Soon Gav and Lou will be asking things they’ve no right to ask of their neighbours, with shattering consequences for all of them…
Have you met The People at Number 9? A dark and delicious novel about envy, longing and betrayal in the suburbs… NetGalley

Next up I plan to read Need You Dead by Peter James with Roy Grace’s thirteenth outing – followers of this blog will know what a huge fan I am of this series so I can’t wait to curl up and read his latest adventure.

Blurb

Lorna Belling, desperate to escape the marriage from hell, falls for the charms of another man who promises her the earth. But, as Lorna finds, life seldom follows the plans you’ve made. A chance photograph on a client’s mobile phone changes everything for her.

When the body of a woman is found in a bath in Brighton, Detective Superintendent Roy Grace is called to the scene. At first it looks an open and shut case with a clear prime suspect. Then other scenarios begin to present themselves, each of them tantalizingly plausible, until, in a sudden turn of events, and to his utter disbelief, the case turns more sinister than Grace could ever have imagined. Amazon

So what are you reading this week? Have you read any of these choices? Do you want to?

Author:

A book lover who clearly has issues as obsessed with crime despite leading a respectable life

26 thoughts on “This Week in Books (May 3)

  1. All your books sound great. Boy A sounds different, sad kinda but also intriguing. I look forward to your reviews. Happy reading 🙂

    Like

  2. They all sound rather hard-hitting and compelling this week. Darn you, tempting me with all of them!
    I’m trying to stay more upbeat. So I’ve just finished The Humans by Matt Haig, which was hilarious, and have borrowed some short stories by Jane Gardam next, as I think that will be witty and acutely observed. However, at the moment, I am reading crime fiction: a Quebecois author just translated into English for the first time: Andree Michaud’s Boundary. I saw her at Quais du Polar in Lyon, she won the prize there, and it seems to be a very atmospheric, slow-paced read.

    Like

  3. The Peter James book tempts me. I’ve read a few of his books and having bought more in one of the Kindle Deals I’m aiming to read more. Not so sure about the other two books – maybe the People at Number 9 – I’ll look out for your review.

    I’m currently reading Alison Weir’s book about Anne Boleyn – good if you like very detailed books! Recently I finished a Maigret book, which was a welcome change from Anne Boleyn and much shorter!! And also Wives and Daughters by Elizabeth Gaskell, which although longer than Weir’s book was fascinating and I loved it.

    Like

  4. Hmm…Boy A sounds intriguing, Cleo. I’ll be interested in what you think of that one. And I’ve been wanting to read The People at Number 9. I keep hearing very good things about that one. Looks like you’re having a good reading week!

    Like

  5. I agree with everyone—The People at Number 9 sounds really intriguing!

    Here is my post for this week. Happy reading!

    Like

  6. I read The People at Number 9 recently and really enjoyed it. I hope you did too. I’ve still not started the Peter James books but I really must try soon as it sounds like a series I’ll love. I hope you enjoy your reading this week 🙂

    Like

  7. It’s ages since I listened to a Roy Grace story – must take a look at what the library offers soon. They are well plotted novels (I understand that James meets a real senior detective to test out the plots with him). The only thing I don’t like is when Grace goes on and on about his darling Cleo

    Like

    1. I absolutely love this series and for the last decade or so it’s been the one book that I buy at time of release although for the last couple of years I’ve been lucky enough to get an ARC – of course I’m a fan of Cleo 😉

      Like

  8. Hi Cleo,

    I like the sound of both ‘The People At Number 9’ and ‘Need You Dead’, thanks for sharing those titles and details and I hope that you enjoy all your books!

    Unusually for me, I have started a new book before finishing my current read, so I am sharing an early 1900s historical romance, set in a Welsh mining village (Family Feeling by Judith Saxton) and a challenging legal thriller (Little Boy Lost by J.D. Trafford). So far both books are very good, in their own unique and individual style!

    Happy Reading 🙂

    Yvonne

    Like

Leave a Reply, I love hearing what you have to say

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.