Posted in Weekly Posts

This Week in Books (April 20)

This Week In Books

Lypsyy Lost & Found my Wednesday post gives you a taste of what I am reading this week. A similar meme is run by Taking on a World of Words

At the moment I am reading one of the older NetGalley books on my list, Found, Near Water by Katherine Hayton

Found Near Water

Blurb

Rena Sutherland wakes from a coma into a mother’s nightmare. Her daughter is missing – lost for four days – but no one has noticed; no one has complained; no one has been searching.
As the victim support officer assigned to her case, Christine Emmett puts aside her own problems as she tries to guide Rena through the maelstrom of her daughter’s disappearance.
A task made harder by an ex-husband desperate for control; a paedophile on early-release in the community; and a psychic who knows more than seems possible.
And intertwined throughout, the stories of six women; six daughters lost. NetGalley

My last read was Harriet Said by Beryl Bainbridge

Harriet Said

To read the synopsis and a short excerpt please see yesterday’s post

Next I am planning on reading Distress Signals by Catherine Ryan Howard which is due to be published on 5 May 2016 by Corvus.

Distress Signals
Blurb

Did she leave, or was she taken? The day Adam Dunne’s girlfriend, Sarah, fails to return from a Barcelona business trip, his perfect life begins to fall apart. Days later, the arrival of her passport and a note that reads ‘I’m sorry – S’ sets off real alarm bells. He vows to do whatever it takes to find her. Adam is puzzled when he connects Sarah to a cruise ship called the Celebrate – and to a woman, Estelle, who disappeared from the same ship in eerily similar circumstances almost exactly a year before. To get the answers, Adam must confront some difficult truths about his relationship with Sarah. He must do things of which he never thought himself capable. And he must try to outwit a predator who seems to have found the perfect hunting ground… Amazon

What are you reading this week? Do share in the comments box below

Author:

A book lover who clearly has issues as obsessed with crime despite leading a respectable life

20 thoughts on “This Week in Books (April 20)

  1. I keep meaning to go back to Bainbridge, so you are tempting me… And I really want to read Distress Signals, as I’ve been following the author’s blog and twitter account for several years now and have respect for her as a non-fiction writer.
    I’ve just finished Elena Ferrante’s ‘The Story of a New Name’ – yes, I finally gave in after 2 years of relentless pressure and started reading the Neapolitan tetralogy. It’s good, but not quite as outstanding as I expected from all the buzz around it.
    I’m currently reading ‘Freedom’s Child’ by Jax Miller, whom I met and loved talking to in Lyon – and enjoying it very much, although it’s about a world that seems very alien to me.
    And I’m thinking of reading Parker Bilal’s book Ghost Runner next, about a Sudanese detective in Egypt.

    Like

  2. Distress Signals sounds really intriguing, Cleo. I’ll be keen to know what you think of that one when you’ve read it. What an interesting premise!

    Like

Leave a Reply, I love hearing what you have to say

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.