Posted in Weekly Posts

First Chapter ~ First Paragraph (September 1)

First Chapter

Welcome to another Tuesday celebrating bookish events, from Tuesday/First Chapter/Intros, hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea Every Tuesday, Diane at Bibliophile by the Sea posts the opening paragraph (sometime two) of a book she decided to read based on the opening. Feel free to grab the banner and play along.

My opening comes from Letters to the Lost by Iona Grey

Letters to the Lost

Blurb

Late on a frozen February evening, a young woman is running through the streets of London. Having fled from her abusive boyfriend and with nowhere to go, Jess stumbles onto a forgotten lane where a small, clearly unlived in old house offers her best chance of shelter for the night. The next morning, a mysterious letter arrives and when she can’t help but open it, she finds herself drawn inexorably into the story of two lovers from another time.
In London 1942, Stella meets Dan, a US airman, quite by accident, but there is no denying the impossible, unstoppable love that draws them together. Dan is a B-17 pilot flying his bomber into Europe from a British airbase; his odds of survival at one in five. The odds are stacked against the pair; the one thing they hold onto is the letters they write to each other. Fate is unkind and they are separated by decades and continents. In the present, Jess becomes determined to find out what happened to them. Her hope—inspired by a love so powerful it spans a lifetime—will lead her to find a startling redemption in her own life in a powerfully moving novel perfect for fans of Sarah Jio and Kate Morton. Goodreads

~ ~ ~

First Chapter ~ First Paragraph ~

Prologue
Maine, February 2011

The house is at its most beautiful in the mornings.
He designed it to be that way, with wide, wide windows which stretch from floor to ceiling, to bring in the sand and the ocean and the wide, wide sky. In the mornings the beach is empty and clean, a page on which the day is yet to be written. And the sunrise over the Atlantic is a daily miracle he always feels honoured to witness.
He never forgets how different it could have been.

Do you want to know more? Or perhaps you’ve already read this book?
Please leave your thoughts and links in the comments box below

Author:

A book lover who clearly has issues as obsessed with crime despite leading a respectable life

30 thoughts on “First Chapter ~ First Paragraph (September 1)

  1. I’m not usually one for this sort of book, Cleo, to be honest. Still, I have to say I am drawn to the setting and to that past/present sort of connection. It sounds intriguing. I’ll be keen to know what you thought of it when you’ve finished.

  2. I do like books that set the scene, opening on a peek into the exterior world the characters inhabit. I see from the comments that the reactions are mixed. But I also love stories in which the character finds something that leads to a study of characters from the past. Thanks for sharing…and for visiting my blog.

Leave a Reply, I love hearing what you have to say

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s