Posted in Weekly Posts

First Chapter ~ First Paragraph (September 5)

First Chapter
Welcome to another Tuesday celebrating bookish events, from Tuesday/First Chapter/Intros, hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea Every Tuesday, Diane at Bibliophile by the Sea posts the opening paragraph (sometime two) of a book she decided to read based on the opening. Feel free to grab the banner and play along.

This week my opening paragraph comes from an author who has delighted me from every subject she tackles, from mothers, to old age and a bit of viral action in between. In My Last Confession by Helen FitzGerald main protagonist is a parole officer.

Blurb

When she starts her new job as a parole officer, Krissie is happy and in love. Then she meets convicted murderer Jeremy, and begins to believe he may be innocent. Her growing obsession with his case threatens to jeopardise everything – her job, her relationship and her life.

Perfect for fans of Julia Crouch, Sophie Hannah and Laura Lippman, My Last Confession is a dark and compelling psychological thriller that traces a young parole officer and her dangerous obsession with a convicted murderer. Amazon

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

First Chapter ~ First Paragraph ~ Intro

1

Tips for parole officers:

1 Don’t smuggle heroin into prison.
2 Don’t drink vodka to relieve stress.
3 Don’t French-kiss a colleague to get your boyfriend jealous.
4 Don’t snort speed.
5 Don’t spend more time with murderers than with your son.
6 Don’t invite crack-head clients to your party.

Maybe if they’d had some kind of induction then my wedding day would have been the most wonderful day of my life.

~ ~ ~

As I love this author’s writing, I’m sure this one will be a great read.

What do you think? Would you keep reading?

Author:

A book lover who clearly has issues as obsessed with crime despite leading a respectable life

21 thoughts on “First Chapter ~ First Paragraph (September 5)

  1. I love the intro with the set of rules so I would definitely keep reading. I also like the legal system angle. This sounds like an interesting book so I hope that you will enjoy it. Happy reading 🙂

  2. Oh, you had me at parole officer (a job that reminds me sometimes of my social work years). I’ve enjoyed The Cry by this author, and have The Exit waiting…why is it still waiting?

    Thanks for sharing, and I love the sound of this one. Thanks for visiting my blog.

Leave a Reply, I love hearing what you have to say

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s