Posted in Weekly Posts

Weekly Wrap Up (August 7)

Weekly Wrap Up

Nothing exciting to report from the ranch this week all fairly normal except I managed to smash my phone’s screen which resulted in it having to be fixed – this in turn meant that I was around less on social media than normal this week. But it’s all better now and normal life can resume once more.

Last Week on the Blog

On the blog last week I posted a review one of my favourite reads of the year so far; I See You by Clare Mackintosh meaning that with two five-star reads under her belt that she is now firmly on my ‘must-read’ list of authors. As in her first book, her twelve years in the police force, including a stint in CID adds to the realism of what was a very creepy book, albeit one with a beautiful cover!

My opening paragraph on Tuesday was from the Queen of Crime; Agatha Christie’s The Murder of Roger Ackroyd, the review of this book was posted later in the same week!

Wednesday’s post featured the books I am reading this week, sadly I didn’t take to Eleanor Catton’s The Rehearsal at all and it is a DNF. It is a long time since I have tossed a book aside, I fear I wasn’t in the mood for the arty language and after struggling through the first few chapters have put this aside. I’m a bit disappointed as this was one of my 20 Books of Summer but since I was never going to get to number 20 anyway…

Following my review of The Murder of Roger Ackroyd the poll indicates that my readers favourite Agatha Christie novel is Murder on the Orient Express!

Friday found me talking/rambling about the fact that the end of a book is so important and yet, in order to avoid spoiling the book for other readers, is something I rarely emphasise in my reviews. I then went on to discuss the end of series which the common method for finishing seems to be the death of the protagonist.

Yesterday had me posting my review of Rat Run by Caro Ramsay a police procedural set in Scotland (I do seem to have read a far few Scottish crime novels lately) which has a definite bite to it!

Stacking the Shelves

I was contacted by Bonnier Zaffre to ask if I would like to read G.J. Minett’s second book Lie In Wait. This man’s debut novel The Hidden Legacy was an outstanding read, so after thinking for a millisecond, I swiftly said ‘yes please’ Lie In Wait will be published in eBook format on 25 August 2016.

Lie In Wait

Blurb

Owen Hall has always been different. A big man with an unusual fixation, one who prefers to put his trust in number patterns rather than in people, it’s unsurprising that he’d draw the attention of a bully.
Or a murder investigation.
And, in the storm of emotions and accusations that erupts when a violent killing affects a small community, it soon becomes clear that a particularly clever murderer might just get away with it. NetGalley
All they’d need is a likely suspect . . .

And Fiction Fan kindly let me know  that I’d missed the announcement of the Agatha Christie Blogathon organised by Christina Wehner for 16 to 18 September 2016. It is no secret that I am a huge fan of this author but the re-reads I have been doing over the last couple of years have always been the Poirot books, or standalones because I wasn’t a fan of Miss Marple. I am now biting the bullet and giving Miss Marple a chance, and to be scrupulously fair I researched to see what other readers thought the best one was. I am going to read and review The Murder at the Vicarage but of course in order to do so, I needed a copy of the book!

The Murder at the Vicarage

Blurb

Agatha Christie’s first ever Miss Marple mystery, reissued with a striking cover designed to appeal to the latest generation of Agatha Christie fans and book lovers.
’Anyone who murdered Colonel Protheroe,’ declared the parson, brandishing a carving knife above a joint of roast beef, ‘would be doing the world at large a service!’
It was a careless remark for a man of the cloth. And one which was to come back and haunt the clergyman just a few hours later. From seven potential murderers, Miss Marple must seek out the suspect who has both motive and opportunity. Amazon

So that’s me, what have you found to read this week?

PicMonkey Collage TBR

TBR WATCH
Since my last post I have read 3 books, discarded 1 and gained 2 so the total this week is now standing at 174 books!
87 physical books
68 e-books
19 books on NetGalley

Author:

A book lover who clearly has issues as obsessed with crime despite leading a respectable life

24 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up (August 7)

  1. I’ve been wanting to read Agatha Christie at some point and heard good things about the Murder of Roger Ackroyd. I love the idea of a mystery on a train so The Orient express would probably be a no- brainer for me too! Good luck with the Miss Marples. 🙂

  2. Hi Cleo,

    I have to admit to being a bit of an Agatha Christie fan, although with the raft of new, strong and competent writers filling this particular genre, I am finding that more and more, I am treating AC as one of the ‘vintage’ selection of authors and books, I read from time to time.

    So much of the upcoming new talent probably owes its success to the pen of one Agatha Christie, that I really feel as if she is giving me a master class, with every book I read.

    I hope that you will give Miss Marple a second chance and enjoy ‘The Murder At The Vicarage’ 🙂

    Yvonne.

    1. I have been amazed at how much I’ve enjoyed re-reading the few AC novels I’ve managed so far and of course you are right, she carved the path that modern crime fiction novelists are now treading. I will be reading Miss Marple with more mature eyes plus a greater appreciation of the genre.

  3. Interested to see you DNF The Rehearsal, you had more sense than me, I ploughed on until the end. I rated it 2 stars on Good reads which says it all. Excited to know about a new GJ Minett, I loved the last one – will now have to investigate Lie in Wait.
    Have a good week!

  4. I am the queen of phone screen’s smashes! It’s a miracle my last phone is still alive and working.

    Although I did not have enough time to take part in the discussion, I really enjoyed reading your post about endings. It can be such a struggle when writing a review, especially when the ending gives the entire story its meaning. It is frustrating to tell people to read till the end because they won’t be disappointed, without being able to give details not to ruin the experience!

    Every mention of Agatha Christie makes me want to run to the library to finally read one of her books in English, but they’re closed until the end of August, so it’ll have to wait!

    Have a nice Sunday 🙂

  5. Was this Catton title one that she wrote after or before The Luminaries? Or do I have the wrong author?
    As for Chriatie, I read all these books when I was in my late teens and always meant to go back to them. Hmmm another case of lost good intentions.

    1. She wrote it before The Luminaries (which I haven’t read) I have enjoyed re-reading the Agatha Christie novels, perhaps with a deeper understanding of the form than I had the first time around.

  6. Sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy the Catton, Cleo. I know that happens sometimes, but still… I am delighted, though, to see you’ve got The Murder at the Vicarage coming up soon. I’ll be really keen to know what you think of that one! I’ve always liked Miss Marple quite a lot.

  7. Good post. I listen to and reviewed The Hied Girl by Any Laura Schlits. I’m enjoying 2 classics, Kenilwoth and Scarlet Pimpermel. Still trying to finish Kate Morton’s Lake House. Giggled thru Texts From Jane Eyre. DNF You’ll Grow Our of it.

  8. Glad you’re joining in the blogathon – I suspect you’ll find you enjoy Miss Marple more now than you did when you tried her before. Also kinda glad you weren’t taken with The Rehearsal – one I can now wipe from the wishlist, I think! 😉

    1. I’m hoping I will too so this is a good way to break the aversion! I wouldn’t bother because even though I know lots of people rated it, I suspect you’d feel the same way as me about this particular book!

  9. I wont take part in the blogathon – I am really out of the loop on these things, and have few Christie books to read, and lots of other books to read first! However, another time and another place, this would be exactly the type of thing I would take part in.

    AS for “Murder on the Orient Express” it’s quite interesting watching the different interpretations when they appear on screen. I’ve never like the Albert Finney version – it was clearly an attempt to get as many famous people on the screen as possible. However the David Suchet one – done very late in his 25 year run as Poirot – had a very dark tone, especially at the end when it came to deciding what he was going to do with the information.

    Instead of doing the spoiler “whodunnit” how about writing about tone etc. Was it resolved neatly? Did the detective act in character? Was it happy, sad, light, dark?

Leave a Reply, I love hearing what you have to say

