Posted in Weekly Posts

This Week in Books (July 13)

This Week In Books

Lypsyy Lost & Found my Wednesday post gives you a taste of what I am reading this week. A similar meme is run by Taking on a World of Words

The book I’m reading at the moment is Death Come Knocking by Graham Bartlett with Peter James. This really is a really interesting look at real life policing in Brighton and cleverly linking to key plot-lines or character traits of the Roy Grace series.

Death Comes Knocking

To read an extract and the synopsis, please see yesterday’s post.

I’ve just finished I Found You by Lisa Jewell which was an excellent tale of a man who had lost his memory and wound up on a beach cold and wet. A book full of questions, just like I enjoy and much darker than you might expect.

I Found You

Blurb

‘How long have you been sitting out here?’
‘I got here yesterday.’
‘Where did you come from?’
‘I have no idea.’
East Yorkshire: Single mum Alice Lake finds a man on the beach outside her house. He has no name, no jacket, no idea what he is doing there. Against her better judgement she invites him in to her home.
Surrey: Twenty-one-year-old Lily Monrose has only been married for three weeks. When her new husband fails to come home from work one night she is left stranded in a new country where she knows no one. Then the police tell her that her husband never existed.
Two women, twenty years of secrets and a man who can’t remember lie at the heart of Lisa Jewell’s brilliant new novel. Amazon

Next up I am going to read A Testament of Youth by Vera Brittain which got rescheduled a few weeks back due to a lack of time. I’m going to be honest, I’m not really sure that I have time for it this week either as my life is full of work and wedding bits for my daughter – she has my whole weekend planned for me and hasn’t factored in this massive book! But I’m going to do my best to get started.

Testament of Youth

Blurb

In 1914 Vera Brittain was 20, and as war was declared she was preparing to study at Oxford. Four years later her life – and the life of her whole generation – had changed in a way that would have been unimaginable in the tranquil pre-war era.
TESTAMENT OF YOUTH, one of the most famous autobiographies of the First World War, is Brittain’s account of how she survived those agonising years; how she lost the man she loved; how she nursed the wounded and how she emerged into an altered world. A passionate record of a lost generation, it made Vera Brittain one of the best-loved writers of her time, and has lost none of its power to shock, move and enthral readers since its first publication in 1933. Amazon

What are you reading this week? Fancy any of these? Please share in the comments envelope below

Author:

A book lover who clearly has issues as obsessed with crime despite leading a respectable life

23 thoughts on “This Week in Books (July 13)

  1. Death Comes Knocking sounds interesting. I like the idea of comparing real life policing with the fictional police investigations in the Roy Grace books. I hope you do get some time to read A Testament of Youth – bearing in mind it took me weeks to read I don’t think you’ll get through it soon, especially with your daughter’s wedding plans. I hope you enjoy your weekend however you spend it.

    1. I am really enjoying Death Comes Knocking for those very reasons. Ah yes, why did I chose quite such a long and dense book, but I’m sure I’ll enjoy it – and despite my moans I’m sure we’ll have fun over the weekend.

  2. I also like the sound of Death Comes Knocking. I often think that real-life policing is probably often even weirder than the stuff we see in fiction. Although I’m sure it’s also full of a lot more red tape and fewer coincidences 🙂
    I hope you enjoy all the “wedding bits” with your daughter. It sounds fun, though not entirely conducive to reading!

    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/07/13/www-wednesday-13th-july-2016/

    1. It is incredibly interesting to read and a real range of real-life crimes.
      Thank you – I’m sure I’ll have a lovely time and it is very exciting even if I’m a bit grumpy about loss of reading time. Thanks for visiting and leaving your link 😉

  3. Ha, ha, can’t believe you’re complaining about having to ‘enjoy’ yourself for your daughter’s wedding preparation, instead of reading… Mind you, I’d probably do the same!
    Meanwhile, it’s those pesky admin-y things (and also some day trips with my kids) which have slowed down my reading.
    Nevertheless, I’m enjoying the books I am reading. I’ve just finished Shining Sea by Anne Korkeaviki, which examines the impact of war and what it means to be a hero, but disguised as a family saga. Full of subtlety, excellent use of language, spot-on observations of family dynamics. I’m not one for family sagas, usually, but I enjoyed this one, with so much unsaid and merely implied.
    I’m currently reading the English translation of the latest Fred Vargas book ‘A Climate of Fear’ – and I have to say I think it sounds funnier in English – almost like a parody of itself.
    And my next book is a thick one (because I plan to leave it behind rather than carry it with me, if only I get to finish it by the end of the month) is Confessions by Jaume Cabre.

    1. Haha I know I’ve turned into a grumpy old woman but then some of what I have to do is arty stuff, not my forte, and somehow I’ve produced a daughter with exacting standards!!
      I do quite like the sound of your family saga with a bit more about it than many in this genre. I don’t read many but I do like the occasional family story, I think they tend to remind us of some universal truths… I get your reasoning with leaving the thickest books behind – not long until your big move then?

  4. I’m glad you’re enjoying Death Comes Knocking as well as you are, Cleo. It does sound really interesting. So does the Brittain. Memoirs and autobiographies can offer fascinating perspectives on different periods of history. I know it keeps you busy, but it must be so exciting getting ready for your daughter’s wedding. I’m sure it’ll be lovely.

    1. I’ve found it fascinating, well-written too. The upcoming wedding is very exciting and keeping us on our toes – we have arty stuff to do this weekend, not my strongest suit but we’ll have a laugh while we work.

  5. I’m not sure if I fancy any of these this week, so perhaps I could help out your daughter while you read – especially if she needs a wedding-cake taster, a role for which I feel I would be perfect! 😉

Leave a Reply, I love hearing what you have to say

