Posted in Weekly Posts

This Week in Books (April 27)

This Week In Books

Lypsyy Lost & Found my Wednesday post gives you a taste of what I am reading this week. A similar meme is run by Taking on a World of Words

At the moment I am reading a hard-hitting psychological thriller; White is the Coldest Colour by John Nicholl who worked as a policeman and a child protection officer.

White is the Coldest Colour

Blurb

Be careful who you trust…
The Mailer family are oblivious to the terrible danger that enters their lives when seven-year-old Anthony is referred to the child guidance service by the family GP following the breakdown of his parents’ marriage.
Fifty-eight year old Dr David Galbraith, a sadistic predatory paedophile employed as a consultant child psychiatrist, has already murdered one child in the soundproofed cellar below the South Wales Georgian town-house he shares with his wife and two young daughters.
Anthony becomes Galbraith’s latest obsession and he will stop at nothing to make his grotesque fantasies reality. Amazon

I recently finished Five Rivers Met on a Wooded Plain by Barney Norris which despite not being a book I would have thought to pick up in a bookshop (my copy came unsolicited from the publisher) made for exceptional and thought-provoking reading. My review will follow soon!

Fiver Rivers Met on a Wooded Plain

Blurb


‘There exists in all of us a song waiting to be sung which is as heart-stopping and vertiginous as the peak of the cathedral. That is the meaning of this quiet city, where the spire soars into the blue, where rivers and stories weave into one another, where lives intertwine.’

One quiet evening in Salisbury, the peace is shattered by a serious car crash. At that moment, five lives collide – a flower seller, a schoolboy, an army wife, a security guard, a widower – all facing their own personal disasters. As one of those lives hangs in the balance, the stories of all five unwind, drawn together by connection and coincidence into a web of love, grief, disenchantment and hope that perfectly represents the joys and tragedies of small town life. Amazon

Next I am planning on reading The Wicked Boy by Kate Summerscale which is due to be published on 5 May 2016.

The Wicked Boy

You can read the synopsis and a short excerpt in yesterday’s post.

What are you reading this week? Do share in the comments box below

Author:

A book lover who clearly has issues as obsessed with crime despite leading a respectable life

47 thoughts on “This Week in Books (April 27)

  1. White is the coldest colour is one of my favourite books I’ve read this year, despite the subject matter I thought it was very well written. Will look forward to reading your review on it X

  2. Oh, dear, I may have to wait a while to read White Is the Coldest Colour, as it does sound unremittingly grim – struggle with things about cruelty to children.
    Last night, instead of TV, I read in one go a book just out by Annabel Kantaria ‘The Disappearance’. I’d known Annabel online as an expat coach and writer – our professional lives overlapped – but not as a writer before. It wasn’t strictly speaking crime fiction or psychological thriller, more a sort of family secrets type of book, not particularly memorable, but good fun to read, certainly went down smoothly.
    I am currently reading ‘Murder in Paris’ by D-L Nelson, another author I know personally from the Geneva Writers’ Group. The aspect of the book which particularly intrigues me is that it’s about a Third Culture Kid (someone who has spent their formative years outside their country of birth/citizenship), just like I have and my kids have.
    My next book will probably be something more challenging: I am eyeing the Javier Marias trilogy on my shelves…

    1. Ooh I’ve had my eye on The Disappearance as I thought it sounded like a good read – good to hear it went well for you. You are certainly in with all the writers group this week! Hope your more challenging read works for you…

  3. Looking forward to seeing what you make of Five Rivers, Cleo. I picked it up yesterday largely because I live not too far away from Salisbury where it’s set. Slightly put off by the opening section but the next one was much more promising.

    1. I know what you mean but it does work in the end (if you haven’t already got there) I was very impressed even more so, as I’m not sure I would have picked this up for myself. I must admit I fell in love with Salisbury just a little bit!

    1. It is hard to read at times but there is something very compelling about it – I did enjoy The Five Rivers… but more about that in the review 😉 Thank you so much for visiting and leaving your link.

  4. OMG, White is the Coldest Color looks like an intense page turner. And scary, too, to imagine that someone who should be protecting children turns out to be a predator. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Definitely The Wicked Boy this week, though Five Rivers sounds intriguing. A similar premise to Let the Great World Spin that I read recently – lives touching because of a random event that affects them all in different ways.

  6. I’ve been reading a book called The Man in the Canary Waistcoat by Susan Grossey. It’s set in the 1820s and is a crime novel about financial fraud. I’m enjoying it. The historical details are elegantly used and I like the main protagonist, Constable Sam Plank. It is a bit of light relief after finally finishing A Little Life.

    1. To be honest I had my doubts when I started this one but I think because it was written by a man who’d worked in the field it has been written to honour those poor children who suffer – it certainly isn’t an easy read and one that I would be very wary of recommending to others – as you say everyone has a line..

  7. White is the Coldest Colour sounds dark even for you! I’d love to give it a try. Did you read The Crow Girl by Erik Axl Sund? (In case I missed it on your blog), if not, I’d love to see what you think!

Leave a Reply, I love hearing what you have to say

