Posted in Weekly Posts

First Chapter ~ First Paragraph (April 5)

First Chapter

Welcome to another Tuesday celebrating bookish events, from Tuesday/First Chapter/Intros, hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea Every Tuesday, Diane at Bibliophile by the Sea posts the opening paragraph (sometime two) of a book she decided to read based on the opening. Feel free to grab the banner and play along.

My chosen book for this week is A Tapping At My Door by David Jackson which will be published on 7 April 2016.

A Tapping at my Door

Blurb

A woman at home in Liverpool is disturbed by a persistent tapping at her back door. She’s disturbed to discover the culprit is a raven, and tries to shoo it away. Which is when the killer strikes.
DS Nathan Cody, still bearing the scars of an undercover mission that went horrifyingly wrong, is put on the case. But the police have no leads, except the body of the bird – and the victim’s missing eyes.
As flashbacks from his past begin to intrude, Cody realises he is battling not just a murderer, but his own inner demons too.
And then the killer strikes again, and Cody realises the threat isn’t to the people of Liverpool after all – it’s to the police.
Following the success and acclaim of the Callum Doyle novels, A Tapping at My Door is the first instalment of David Jackson’s new Nathan Cody series. Amazon

~ ~ ~

First Chapter ~ First Paragraph ~ Intro

1

L is ten.
There it is again. The sound. The tapping, scratching, scrabbling noise at the back door. Terri Latham gives it her attention and then, when the sound stops, chides herself for wasting the brainpower. Its nothing. Just the plants, probably. She laughs at that. Laughs at the way it conjures up the image of an eight-foot Venus Flytrap or some such, banging its leafy fist on her door and demanding to be fed. Like that film – what’s it called? – Little Shop of Horrors, that’s it. Because it’s funny. Sitting here alone, getting all jittery over nothing but a plant – well, that’s hilarious. Actually, she has a whole crowd of plants in pots just outside the door, but she’s not thinking of them. Most of them aren’t capable of knocking for attention.

Please note that this excerpt comes from a proof copy

I’m not sure about the writing style of this passage, those incredibly short sentences aren’t something I’m used to, but the opening certainly conjures up the setting vividly.
Would you read on? Please leave your comments and links in the comments box below

Author:

A book lover who clearly has issues as obsessed with crime despite leading a respectable life

44 thoughts on “First Chapter ~ First Paragraph (April 5)

  1. Sounds good, look forward to your review. I didn’t like cry baby though. Well I liked it very much, until nearly the end. Let us know what you think when you read it.

  2. That was a really creepy intro and while I do like an occasional dose of creepy books, this one made me develop goose bumps LOL

  3. That bit certainly is suspenseful, Cleo! As you say, the writing style is different, but I can see why the author chose it. I’ll be interested in what you think of this one when you’ve finished.

  4. I felt a sense of satisfaction at seeing the mention of the raven being the one tapping at the door as Edgar Allan Poe’s poem was the first that popped into my head when I saw the title of your book. 🙂 It sounds like quite a suspenseful novel! I would definitely continue reading. I love series like this.

  5. Sometimes short sentences increase the intensity of the moments…hope you enjoy it.

    It made me very wary of anyone tapping on my door, that’s for sure! Thanks for sharing…and for visiting my blog.

  6. I like the opening because the short sentences reveal the way people actually think — in short bursts. I can imagine the character having a nervous laugh at herself. The scene is full of foreboding, and I’d keep reading to find out what was really tapping at her door. Nevermore?
    My Tuesday post features a mystery thriller: THE SHADOW CARTEL.

  7. I love the creepiness of it, but not sure about the writing style, and of course it’s the dreaded present tense. However, I’ve only seen a couple of reviews of it and they’ve been glowing…!

    1. Well I could say you’re missing out on some great books because of your tense issues but I do understand, if it doesn’t suit you it will get in the way of the story – I’ve read high praise indeed for this one but as you know I don’t mind gruesome but I’m don’t read much creepy!

Leave a Reply, I love hearing what you have to say

