Posted in Weekly Posts

This Week in Books (February 3)

This Week In Books

Hosted by Lypsyy Lost & Found my Wednesday post gives you a taste of what I am reading this week. A similar meme is run by Taking on a World of Words

Well due to visitors over the last week there has been little reading done so please forgive the overlap.

At the moment I’m reading The Girl You Lost by Kathryn Croft , a psychological thriller.

The Girl You Lost

Please see yesterday’s post for the synopsis and excerpts from this book

I have just finished The Ex by Alafair Burke, a gripping attorney led thriller.

The Ex

Blurb

In this breakout standalone thriller in the tradition of Gillian Flynn, William Landay and Paula Hawkins, a lawyer agrees to help an old boyfriend who has been accused of murder-but begins to suspect that she is the one being manipulated.
Widower Jack Harris has resisted the dating scene since the shooting of his wife by a fifteen-year-old boy three years ago. An early morning run along the Hudson River changes that when he spots a woman who eerily but thrillingly echoes his past. Eager to help Jack find love again, his best friend posts a “Missed Moment” item online and days later, a woman responds…
Olivia Randall is one of New York City’s best criminal defense lawyers. When she gets the phone call informing her that her former fiancée, Jack Harris, has been arrested for a triple homicide there is no doubt in her mind as to his innocence. The only question is who would go to such great lengths to frame him – and why?
For Olivia, representing Jack is a way to make up for past regrets, and the hurt she caused him, but as the evidence against him mounts, she is forced to confront her doubts. The man she knew could not have done this. But what if she never really knew him? NetGalley

Next I plan on reading Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris a debut thriller!

Behind Closed Doors

Blurb

Everyone knows a couple like Jack and Grace. He has looks and wealth, she has charm and elegance. You might not want to like them, but you do.
You’d like to get to know Grace better.
But it’s difficult, because you realise Jack and Grace are never apart.
Some might call this true love. Others might ask why Grace never answers the phone. Or how she can never meet for coffee, even though she doesn’t work. How she can cook such elaborate meals but remain so slim. And why there are bars on one of the bedroom windows.
Sometimes, the perfect marriage is the perfect lie. Amazon

So that’s my choices for this week. What do you all have to read at the moment? Do share!

Author:

A book lover who clearly has issues as obsessed with crime despite leading a respectable life

31 thoughts on “This Week in Books (February 3)

  1. I’m currently reading two books: Petina Gappah’s The Book of Memory about an albino black woman on death row in Zimbabwe, and Gold Fame Citrus, a dystopian novel – not my usual bag – about an America beset by drought and transformed into one huge desert.

  2. I’m reading Nayomi Munaweera’s What Lies Between Us, which I’m really enjoying, starts out idyllic and we know it’s all going to change, though still have no idea what’s coming next, full of surprises.

  3. I hope you enjoyed ‘The Ex.’ The description you posted last week was really interesting and sounded like it would make a good book. Happy reading!

  4. Ooh, these all sound really good! I just downloaded The Ex this week, but now I must bookmark Behind Closed Doors….sounds like a scary domestic thriller. I’ve also been eyeing The Girl You Lost.

  5. So, I’ll say that Behind Closed Doors sounds promising. It may not be coming out here for a while. No worries, since I have about a million books before it to read. LOL

  6. All great reads, so many choices. I never read the summary of Behind Closed Doors………….I’m so intrigued, adding to TBR list for sure. Still considering the other 2 but I’m sure I will end up reading this year. I’m very excited about reading this year and getting back to the genre I love – thrillers.

Leave a Reply, I love hearing what you have to say

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s