Posted in Weekly Posts

This Week in Books (January 27)

This Week In Books

Hosted by Lypsyy Lost & Found my Wednesday post gives you a taste of what I am reading this week. A similar meme is run by Taking on a World of Words

My current read is The Promise by Alison Bruce, the sixth in the DC Goodhew series which will be published on 4 February 2016.

The Promise

Blurb

In a single night, Kyle Davidson’s life is derailed. His relationship is over, he is denied access to his young son and everything important to him is at risk.
His thoughts stumble between fear and revenge. Kyle Davidson has a choice to make.
Meanwhile, after the tragic end to a previous case, DC Gary Goodhew finds himself questioning his reasons for returning to work until the badly beaten body of a homeless man is found on Market Hill. Having known the homeless man for several years Goodhew feels compelled to be part of the investigation – but routine lines of enquiry soon take a dark and unexpected turn.
Suddenly the Cambridge back streets hold deadly secrets for Goodhew and the only person who has the answers is planning one final, desperate act. NetGalley

I have recently finished the latest in the Ruth Galloway series; The Woman in Blue by Elly Griffiths

The Woman in Blue

See yesterday’s post for the synopsis and a taster from this book.

Next up I have The Ex by Alafair Burke, a new to me author whose synopsis was just too tempting to resist.

The Ex

Blurb

Widower Jack Harris has resisted the dating scene since the shooting of his wife by a fifteen-year-old boy three years ago. An early morning run along the Hudson River changes that when he spots a woman who eerily but thrillingly echoes his past. Eager to help Jack find love again, his best friend posts a “Missed Moment” item online and days later, a woman responds…
Olivia Randall is one of New York City’s best criminal defense lawyers. When she gets the phone call informing her that her former fiancée, Jack Harris, has been arrested for a triple homicide there is no doubt in her mind as to his innocence. The only question is who would go to such great lengths to frame him – and why?
For Olivia, representing Jack is a way to make up for past regrets, and the hurt she caused him, but as the evidence against him mounts, she is forced to confront her doubts. The man she knew could not have done this. But what if she never really knew him? NetGalley

The Ex will be published on 4 February 2016

So that’s my choices. What do you all have to read at the moment? Do share!

Author:

A book lover who clearly has issues as obsessed with crime despite leading a respectable life

35 thoughts on “This Week in Books (January 27)

  1. All very crimey this week, and all sound tempting. I’ve read The Promise and a review will be up shortly on CFL website. I’m rather fond of the Cambridge setting and of Gary Goodhew, although this is not the strongest book in the series to date.
    I’ve just finished Julian Barnes’ latest novel The Noise of Time, which is a powerful reimagining of the life of Shostakovich and the compromises you make with a totalitarian government for your art and family and life. I am currently reading ‘Lie in the Dark’ by Dan Fesperman, crime fiction set in Sarajevo under siege (does crime even matter when so many are being killed daily?). Not sure what will come next, after that or in parallel to that. If I plan ahead, I’m sure to change my mind…

    1. Oh Marina you have some heavy sounding reads this week – I am enjoying The Promise, helped because I caught up with Goodhew earlier this month so the characters are fresher in my mind. Yes on full on crime mode for a while after a recent break – I can’t stay away.

  2. I can’t wait for The Ex to be released!
    It’s a slow reading week for me unfortunately, I hope next week will be a little less insane so I can catch up with all the books piling.

  3. The Ex would be my choice, since I’m already reading The Woman in Blue. Reading has fallen completely by the wayside while the Brits are doing so well in the tennis…

  4. I can’t wait for you to read The Ex. Ive been meaning to request it on netgalley after seeing it here lol. Have I gushed over how excited I am to follow a blogger who likes murder mysteries?! I have a feeling my netgalley requests will go up lol Happy Wednesday!

Leave a Reply, I love hearing what you have to say

