Posted in Weekly Posts

First Chapter ~ First Paragraph (August 18)

First Chapter

Welcome to another Tuesday celebrating bookish events, from Tuesday/First Chapter/Intros, hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea Every Tuesday, Diane at Bibliophile by the Sea posts the opening paragraph (sometime two) of a book she decided to read based on the opening. Feel free to grab the banner and play along.

My opening comes from Burnt Paper Sky by Gilly MacMillan, a book which I’ve read some great reviews of over the last few months, my copy is being read in time for the publication of the paperback on 27 August 2015.

Burnt Paper Sky

Blurb

Rachel Jenner turned her back for a moment. Now her eight-year-old son Ben is missing.
But what really happened that fateful afternoon?
Caught between her personal tragedy and a public who have turned against her, there is nobody left who Rachel can trust. But can the nation trust Rachel?
The clock is ticking to find Ben alive.
WHOSE SIDE ARE YOU ON? NetGalley

~ ~ ~

First Chapter ~ First Paragraph ~ Intro

RACHEL

In the eyes of others, we’re often not who we imagine ourselves to be.
When we first meet someone, we can put our best foot forward and give the very best account of ourselves, but still get it horribly wrong.
It’s a pitfall of life.
I’ve thought about this a lot since my son Ben went missing, and every time I think about it, it also begs the question: if we’re not who we imagine we are, then is anybody else? If there is so much potential for other’s to judge us wrongly, then how can we be sure our assessment of them in any way resembles the real person that lies underneath?

Please note that this was taken from a proof copy

Do you want to know more? Have you already read this one?
Please leave your thoughts and links in the comments box below

Author:

A book lover who clearly has issues as obsessed with crime despite leading a respectable life

49 thoughts on “First Chapter ~ First Paragraph (August 18)

  1. I am interested in reading this book. In fact, I already have it on my shelf. Will look forward to hearing your thoughts about it. And yes, I’d keep reading.

    Nice to see you here, Cleo. I’ve been thinking of you.

  2. I really like this beginning! It goes really deep but also very true. And the blurb of the novel makes this sound like a very sad but also a fascinating story! Thanks for sharing 🙂 I hope you have a great week!
    My Tuesday post
    Juli @ Universe in Words

  3. This does sound really interesting, Cleo! I always think it’s fascinating when authors explore that question of how reliable the narrator or main character really is, if I can put it that way. I’ll be keen to read your review of this.

  4. Stories of missing children are hard for me to read. I sort of like the premise, that none of us are who we imagine ourselves to be. I wonder if the story is mostly about who can she trust or about where is Ben?

  5. I love the intro–reflective intros always draw me in right away. I admit the missing child aspect gives me pause. It’s one of my worst fears and so sometimes I have a hard time with books like this . . . Still, I also am intrigued.

  6. Good to see you back. I’m not sure if I could take this kind of plot emotionally. I can see how easy it is for the public to turn against the parents. Who know what really happened? It’s sad and scary at the same time. It breaks my heart when children go missing and no one knows anything.

Leave a Reply, I love hearing what you have to say

