Posted in Weekly Posts

Friday Finds (February 6)

Friday Finds Hosted by Should be Reading

FRIDAY FINDS showcases the books you ‘found’ and added to your To Be Read (TBR) list… whether you found them online, or in a bookstore, or in the library — wherever! (they aren’t necessarily books you purchased).

No books from NetGalley this week although I do have a couple of finds for you.

I had to snap up the bargain that was A Perfect Match by Jill McGown that has been recently released on kindle. I read all of the Lloyd and Hill series that our library stocked in the early 90s and so couldn’t resist the first in the series (of ten which might mean my TBR grows rapidly) for 59p.

A Perfect Match

Blurb

The news rocked the town. A woman’s body found in a boathouse. And the woman’s last known companion Missing Presumed Fled. To the people of Stansfield it’s an open and shut case.
But Detective Inspector Lloyd – teamed up once more with Sergeant Judy Hill – isn’t so quick to jump to conclusions. To begin with he’s certain of only two things. First, that nothing can stop the reawakening of his tender feelings towards his colleague.
And second: in a murder enquiry you don’t rule out . . . Amazon

I also finally have a copy of An Anatomy of Death by Felicity Young that I’ve coveted ever since reading about it on Margot Kinberg’s blog, The Confessions of a Mystery Novelist. If you haven’t read Margot’s blog before you are missing a treat but she does add so many books to the TBR!
An Anatomy of Death

Blurb

At the turn of the twentieth century, London’s political climate is in turmoil, as women fight for the right to vote. Dody McCleland has her own battles to fight. As England’s first female autopsy surgeon, not only must she prove herself, she must prove that murder treats everyone equally…
After a heated women’s rights rally turns violent, an innocent suffragette is found murdered. When she examines the body, Dody McCleland is shocked to realize that the victim was a friend of her sister—fueling her determination to uncover the cause of the protestor’s suspicious death.
For Dody, gathering clues from a body is often easier than handling the living—especially Chief Detective Inspector Pike. Pike is looking to get to the bottom of this case but has a hard time trusting anyone—including Dody. Determined to earn Pike’s trust and to find the killer, Dody will have to sort through real and imagined secrets. But if she’s not careful, she may end up on her own examination table… Amazon

I also finally have a copy of The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie which I have been looking for a copy of for some time.

The Murder of Roger Ackroyd

Blurb

Hercule Poirot has to solve a fiendishly clever murder mystery in this newly adapted full-colour comic strip adventure. Famed for her crime masterpieces, Agatha Christie’s books have become the best-selling in the world, appealing to readers young and old for their ingenious plots and immediately recognizable characters. The stories have also transcended the printed page, become bestselling audiobooks and award-winning films, plays and television series. Now words and pictures combine in an exciting new way of telling these stories — full-colour graphic novels which enhance the original stories and offer a completely new way of enjoying some of the world’s most popular and exciting mysteries. Roger Ackroyd knows too much. He knows that the woman he loves poisoned her brutal first husband. He also suspects that someone has been blackmailing her. Now, tragically, the news has come that she has taken her own life with a drug overdose. But the evening post brings Roger one last fatal scrap of information. Unfortunately, before he can finish reading it, he is stabbed to death! Goodreads

What have you found to read this week?

Author:

A book lover who clearly has issues as obsessed with crime despite leading a respectable life

25 thoughts on “Friday Finds (February 6)

  1. Margot’s blog is awesome! My TBR pile is huge and overwhelming and seems like it’s growing by the second. Next up for me is Chevy Stevens. Haven’t decided on which one yet. Still reading Karin Slaughter’s “Kisscut”, and it’s excellent!

  2. Thank you, Cleo and Sue, for the kind mentions 🙂 . Cleo, you have a great list of finds! I really do hope you’ll enjoy Anatomy of Death; I think Felicity Young is quite talented. And The Murder of Roger Ackroyd is one of Christie’s most ingenious stories, in my opinion.

    1. I’m sure I must have read The Murder of Roger Ackroyd but I can’t recall it and I’ve been on the lookout for a good copy for a while! Thanks for the recommendation, I’m really looking forward to it.

  3. I bought the Jill McGown too, as someone had mentioned her books, on Twitter I think (I know I’m not meant to, but it was 59p!) – she’s new to me. Anatomy Of Death looks great, and I have Roger Ackroyd in a faux-vintage hardback (irritatingly, I know what happens, so I’m leaving it as long as possible in the hope I forget!) I’ve had a busy week for books, so I’ll try and add my FF this evening.

    1. You seem to have a few caveats to your DD challenge! I have already read my copy… I’ve been looking out for Roger Ackroyd because I don’t remember reading it and it’s widely considered one of AC’s best. Very keen on the Felicity Young too… just need some more time 🙂

    1. I’ve been wanting to read it for such a long time although I have no hope of solving the case because I’m a little bit rubbish at being a detective which is ridiculous considering how many mystery books I’ve read 🙂

  4. The Murder of Roger Ackroyd is a goodie – hope you enjoy it! (Is it the graphic version you have, or is that just the blurb?) I must say I’m very taken by the ‘Missing Presumed Fled’ bit in the blurb for the first one – makes the book sound a bit in the cosyish side?

    1. I don’t have the graphic version of Roger Ackroyd just a good copy (at last) as I still can’t work out how I missed this when I read them all originally. The Perfect Match isn’t really a cosy more a police procedural but softer, if that makes any sense? It was first published in 1983 so considerably shorter than newer books of the genre.

      1. Yes, I rather like police procedurals like that, more than the current gritty miserable kind, to be honest. I may have to look out for that one, depending on your review…

Leave a Reply, I love hearing what you have to say

