Posted in Weekly Posts

WWW Wednesday (November 26)

WWW Wednesday green

Hosted by Miz B at Should be Reading

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…
• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

I am currently reading Sweet Damage by Rebecca James

Sweet Damage

Blurb

‘In my dreams the house itself has sinister intentions.
In reality, the people who lived there did the damage…’
Tim Ellison is lucky to find a cheap room in the city’s best location. There’s a hitch, though – he must run errands for the reclusive owner, beautiful Anna London.
Anna is secretive, but it’s obvious something is haunting her…
When terrifying things start happening in the house, Tim is forced to think about leaving. But he’s fallen for Anna, and when her past comes back with a vengeance Tim is caught right in the middle. Amazon

I have recently finished The Life I Left Behind by Colette McBeth a book that comes I highly recommend by your truly. Find out why when I post my review.

The Life I Left Behind

Next I am going to read The Girl in the Photograph by Kate Riordan

The Girl in the Photograph

Blurb

When Alice Eveleigh arrives at Fiercombe Manor during the long, languid summer of 1933, she finds a house steeped in mystery and brimming with secrets. Sadness permeates its empty rooms and the isolated valley seems crowded with ghosts, none more alluring than Elizabeth Stanton whose only traces remain in a few tantalisingly blurred photographs. Why will no one speak of her? What happened a generation ago to make her vanish?
As the sun beats down relentlessly, Alice becomes ever more determined to unearth the truth about the girl in the photograph – and stop her own life from becoming an eerie echo of Elizabeth’s . . . Amazon

What are you reading this week? Please share in the comments below.

Author:

A book lover who clearly has issues as obsessed with crime despite leading a respectable life

43 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday (November 26)

  1. Gosh yes we’ve a lot of crossovers! I do hope Sweet Damage is good; I was tempted to read it a few times but wanted to leave it until close to it’s release date – so I hope it’s been worth the wait! I got “request declined” for The Girl In The Photograph, although it’s probably because it isn’t my usual fare…but I did enter a GoodReads competition for it too…! I’ll be interested in seeing what you make of it, then if need be I’ll just buy the blooming thing – although I have promised not to buy any more books til I get through what I have already…but that Amazon 1-click buying system is criminally easy (I suspect that’s the whole idea…!) I’m at https://crimeworm.wordpress.com/2014/11/26/w-w-w-wednesdays-10/

      1. When I read The Girl In The Photograph blurb I instantly thought “Kate Morton”, as she leads the pack with manors, secrets, the past…and I’ve noticed from the top of your page you’re a fan!

  2. I’m gone as soon as I read the word Manor 😀 Love me some historical fiction. Adding the girl in the photograph to my TBR 😀

  3. Currently reading: Sarah Waters’ ‘The Paying Guests’ (but very slowly, because nanowrimo), going to read Hayley Webster’s ‘Jar Baby’ next, and… just realised I can’t actually remember the last book I finished. It was obviously very memorable…

  4. I haven’t read any Colette McBeth yet and I hear she is stunning, so I have to remedy that.
    I’ve just finished ‘Research’ by Philip Kerr – a light-hearted holiday thriller with lots of sly digs at the publishing industry and writers’ egos. I’m currently reading Patrick Modiano’s memoirs ‘Un pedigree’ (or will be, once my migraine has lifted). And I’m tempted to pick up ‘Because She Loves Me’ by Mark Edwards next, although I also have Ann Patchett’s Bel Canto waiting for me.

    1. Marina Sofia – if you read Because She Loves Me, do let me know what you think. I found it so unmemorable that I was convinced I hadn’t read it all, so started it again. Maybe you’ll feel differently, but, erm, caveat emptor…

  5. Cleo – Oh, The Girl in the Photograph sounds so intriguing! Very keen to get your thoughts on that when you’ve had a chance to read it. Actually, the other two sound very good too. You’re having a nice run there!

      1. I’m not sure how you feel about US detectives Cleo but imho Michael Connelly is The Godfather of US crime fiction – I don’t think I’ve ever read a bad book of his. Plus, if you enjoy them, there’s a huge back catalogue (good for you; not so good for the family…!) That was the only refusal from NetGalley which actually gutted me, as I just LOVE his books. And now he’s back from retirement, working cold cases – they’re great material for crime fiction. So sad – my fave detectives, Bosch and Rebus, are getting old!

Leave a Reply, I love hearing what you have to say

