Posted in Weekly Posts

Friday Finds (October 31)

Friday Finds Hosted by Should be Reading

FRIDAY FINDS showcases the books you ‘found’ and added to your To Be Read (TBR) list… whether you found them online, or in a bookstore, or in the library — wherever! (they aren’t necessarily books you purchased).

So, come on — share with us your FRIDAY FINDS

This week I’m thrilled to say NetGalley was kind enough to approve me for a copy of Nora Webster by Colm Tóibín after reading a fantastic review of this book on FictionFan’s Book Reviews, although I have a horrible feeling that I may have to add more books by Colm Tóibín if this lives up to my expectations.

Nora Webster

Blurb

Set in Wexford, Ireland, Colm Tóibín’s superb seventh novel introduces the formidable, memorable and deeply moving Nora Webster. Widowed at forty, with four children and not enough money, Nora has lost the love of her life, Maurice, the man who rescued her from the stifling world to which she was born. And now she fears she may be drawn back into it. Wounded, strong-willed, clinging to secrecy in a tiny community where everyone knows your business, Nora is drowning in her own sorrow and blind to the suffering of her young sons, who have lost their father. Yet she has moments of stunning empathy and kindness, and when she begins to sing again, after decades, she finds solace, engagement, a haven—herself. Amazon

I also have a copy of a book not out until June 2015 which seems slightly ridiculous and required another tab on the TBR excel spreadsheet! I requested After We Fall by Emma Kavanagh after reading so many good reviews of Falling by the same author.

After We Fall

Blurb

A moody, intense debut psychological thriller by a former police psychologist, this debut novel explores four lives that fall apart in the tense aftermath of a plane crash, perfect for fans of Tana French, S. J. Watson, and Alice LaPlante. Unraveling what holds these four together is a tense, taut tale about good people who make bad decisions that ultimately threaten to destroy them. Debut author Emma Kavanagh deftly weaves together the stories of those who lost someone or something of themselves in one tragic incident, exploring how swiftly everything we know can come crashing down. NetGalley

Somehow I managed to make a couple of purchases too this week. After reading a Tuesday Teaser about My Sister’s Grave by Robert Dugoni on My Dog Eared Purpose I was sold,and promptly bought a kindle copy for the bargain price of 99p as a Kindle First Reads. I can’t believe I hadn’t heard of this program before; basically you can get one of four books that is yet to be released for 99p each month. I can see that this will add another twelve books a year to the already sky high TBR. Anyway back to the book, My Dog Eared Purpose has now written a great review that endorses my choice.

My Sister's Grave

Blurb

Tracy Crosswhite has spent twenty years questioning the facts surrounding her sister Sarah’s disappearance and the murder trial that followed. She doesn’t believe that Edmund House—a convicted rapist and the man condemned for Sarah’s murder—is the guilty party. Motivated by the opportunity to obtain real justice, Tracy became a homicide detective with the Seattle PD and dedicated her life to tracking down killers.
When Sarah’s remains are finally discovered near their hometown in the northern Cascade mountains of Washington State, Tracy is determined to get the answers she’s been seeking. As she searches for the real killer, she unearths dark, long-kept secrets that will forever change her relationship to her past—and open the door to deadly danger. Amazon

Finally I also weakened when reading Margot Kinberg’s In the Spotlight post featuring The Dying Light by Alison Joseph.

The Dying Light

Blurb

Young and fiercely independent, Sister Agnes Bourdillon has never felt the need of a wimple to express her spirituality. But her strength is tested by her secondment to Silworth, a South London women’s prison. She does, however, find the work compelling, as she attempts to negotiate the network of bullies and victims, loyalties and hatreds, prisoners and jailers, searching to understand the often violent histories that lie behind each woman.
Then the father of Cally Fisher, one of the most turbulent inmates, is shot dead. The chief suspect is Cally’s boyfriend. Reminded unnervingly of how she is losing her own mother, who is rapidly retreating from reality in a French nursing home, Agnes finds that she too has become entangled in a dark world that stretches further than the prison walls… Amazon

What did you find to read this week?

Author:

A book lover who clearly has issues as obsessed with crime despite leading a respectable life

20 thoughts on “Friday Finds (October 31)

  1. Cleo – Thank you for the kind mention. I do hope you’ll enjoy The Dying Light. And I must say, I was quite tempted too by FictionFan’s review of Nora Webster. I’ll be very interested in what you have to say about that one. The others you’ve chosen look great too. You’re in for some good reading I think.

  2. I just picked Nora Webster up from the library last night! Not sure when I’ll get to it, though . . .
    After We Fall sounds like something I would like–off to add it to my TBR list!

  3. Ooh, I’m so glad you got it! I really hope you enjoy it… 😀 And thanks for the link!

    Oh dear, your other three all look good too – I’ll await your reviews with trepidation. I’ve never heard of Kindle First Reads either – just off to investigate, so if I end up with even more books, we know whose fault it will be….

  4. I like the sound of the last book. I like to pick my current read one at a time. I get wishy washy when I have a stack I must read. I find I want to rebel and pick something else.

Leave a Reply, I love hearing what you have to say

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s