Posted in Weekly Posts

Friday Finds (January 17)

Friday Finds Hosted by Should be Reading

FRIDAY FINDS showcases the books you ‘found’ and added to your To Be Read (TBR) list… whether you found them online, or in a bookstore, or in the library — wherever! (they aren’t necessarily books you purchased).

So, come on — share with us your FRIDAY FINDS!
From NetGalley I have a copy of Unravelling Oliver by Liz Nugent

Unravelling Oliver
Blurb

‘I expected more of a reaction the first time I hit her.’Liz Nugent’s gripping novel of psychological suspense, Unravelling Oliver, is a complex and elegant study of the making of a sociopath in the tradition of Barbara Vine and Patricia Highsmith.Oliver Ryan is a handsome and charismatic success story. He lives in the leafy suburbs with his wife, Alice, who illustrates his award-winning children’s books and gives him her unstinting devotion. Their life together is one of enviable privilege and ease – enviable until, one evening after supper, Oliver attacks Alice and puts her into a coma.In the aftermath, as everyone tries to make sense of his astonishing act of savagery, Oliver tells his story. So do those whose paths he has crossed over five decades. What unfolds is a story of shame, envy, breath-taking deception and masterful manipulation.Only Oliver knows the lengths to which he has had to go to get the life to which he felt entitled. But even he is in for a shock when the past catches up with him. NetGalley

Due to be published by Penguin Books (UK) on 6 March 2014

Following a visit to Book Lover’s Attic the author John Terracuso kindly offered me a copy of his book A Fool Among Fools

A Fool Among Fools
Synopsis

It’s 1986 and Michael Gregoretti is a struggling copywriter at a big New York ad agency, trapped on accounts no one else will touch.Toss in one insane boss, a sweet and sassy gal pal, a dreamboat boyfriend with cold feet, a wisecracking roommate and what might be the worst TV commercials ever made, and you’ve got a witty, wonderful story that will keep you laughing until the very last page.

I was also gifted a copy of Tea Cups and Tiger Claws by Timothy Patrick
Tea Cups and Tiger Claws

Blurb

When identical triplets are born in 1916, newspapers from across the country cover the story, and the babies become little celebrities. Unfortunately, this small portion of fame, combined with a much larger portion of parental greed, leads to some sleazy bargaining, and the triplets are split up parceled out to the highest bidders. Good fortune shines on two of the baby girls and they go together to live in a hilltop mansion. The third baby isn’t so lucky. She ends up with a shady family, in an abandoned work camp, in the same small town as her sisters.
The two girls on the hill grow up to become renowned beauties presiding over a world of glamour and privilege. The other girl, the leftover one, grows up in shabbiness, under the cloud of her sisters’ magnificence. But this girl has something her sisters will never have: ambition. Her name is Dorthea Railer, and she dreams about eliminating her sisters and taking their place in society. Amazon

I have also found out about two books that have gone on my must reads

Thursday’s Children by Nicci French, a continuation of the days of the week series which I have on good authority will consist of eight books! No blurb yet but this is due to be published by Penguin on 10 April 2014

Thursday's Children

Another continuation of a series. number eight of the Patrik Hedstrom series completes my finds for this week:

Buried Angels by Camilla Läckberg

Buried Angels
Blurb

Easter, 1974. A family vanishes without a trace from the island of Valö outside of Fjällbacka. The dinner table has been exquisitely set, but everyone except the one year-old daughter Ebba is gone. Are they victims of a crime or have they voluntarily disappeared?
Years later Ebba returns to the island and the old summer camp where her father ruled a boarding school with an iron hand. She and her husband Tobias have recently lost their three year-old son, and in an attempt to overcome their grief they have decided to renovate the house and open a B&B.
Erica Falck’s interest is piqued – she has researched the tragic and mysterious history of the family, and looks forward to meeting Ebba.
But the couple have barely settled in before they are subjected to an attempt of arson. And when they begin to remove the floor boards in the dining room, they find dried blood underneath… Goodreads

Also due to be published on 10 April 2014 by HarperCollins; not the best planning because I can’t read both these much wanted books on the same day!

Author:

A book lover who clearly has issues as obsessed with crime despite leading a respectable life

5 thoughts on “Friday Finds (January 17)

Leave a Reply, I love hearing what you have to say

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.