Posted in Book Review, Books I have read

The Moment Keeper – Buffy Andrews

Contemporary Fiction 3*'s
Contemporary Fiction
3*’s

I’d like to start by saying a big thank you to the publishers Carina for giving me a copy of The Moment Keeper in exchange for an honest review.

A Moment Keeper is someone who has died who takes note of each of the moments in a living person for them to see at the end of their life. The flashback of key events is made up from their faithful recording of events over the years.

In The Moment Keeper Sarah is assigned the job of recording Olivia’s life and so the book starts with the naming of baby Olivia by her parents. Olivia is adopted but clearly adored by her parents, however it becomes clear that Sarah’s life wasn’t quite as full of love and affection. Sarah’s mother died and her father Matt appears to blame her for the loss of his wife.

At first I found the large amounts of dialogue in this book a little off-putting and it took a while for me to get into this style of writing. The story continues as along with Sarah we watch Olivia grow up, through childhood into the teenage years where Olivia peruses her ambition to become a dancer while Sarah’s wonderful Grandmother longs for her to have opportunities at college and to better herself. Needless to say everything does not go to plan.

I found myself rooting for Sarah, longed to know why she died at such a young age, and wondered at the sheer contrast of Olivia’s life. I did find the difference in attitudes of young American teenagers quite different to those portrayed here in the UK but I think that is probably just due to my lack of exposure to the cultural differences.

Be warned this is a tale about choices, bereavement and relationships in this book which may cause a few tears to fall…

This is the first book I have read as part of the COYER challenge.
COYER Challenge button

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Author:

A book lover who clearly has issues as obsessed with crime despite leading a respectable life

8 thoughts on “The Moment Keeper – Buffy Andrews

  1. This reminds me that I need to get back to doing book reviews. That was my whole point to start with, but I’ve kind of gone in another direction. Good review – moment keeper . . . that’s an interesting concept.

    1. Thank you – I have good intentions so I aim to keep on track and clear some of these old books off the TBR pile. The cover of this is very pretty. Even though it took me a while to get used to the writing style it was quite a thought-provoking book.

Leave a Reply, I love hearing what you have to say

