Posted in Book Review, Books I have read

The Lost Boy – Camilla Läckberg

Crime Fiction 4*'s
Crime Fiction
4*’s

The Lost Boy is the seventh book in this series by Camilla Läckberg featuring Patrik Hedström and his writer wife Erica Falck.

Erica has now had her twins after the cliff-hanger of The Drowning when Patrick is called to investigate a shooting. A man named Mats Sverin has been found shot in the back of the head yet early signs show him to have been well respected. Mats had recently returned to Fjällbacka, a coastal fishing village in Sweden, and the detectives working with Patrick wonder if the clues to his killing lie with secrets from his past.

Alongside this murder to solve there is the parallel tale of Graskar, known by the locals as Ghost Isle. The legend is set in the 1870’s. These interwoven excerpts detail one woman’s life as the wife as a lighthouse keeper there but the legend of the island lives on to the current times. Is it a coincidence that Nathalie who was Mats childhood sweetheart has returned to take up residence on Ghost Isle?

Camilla Läckberg’s books have some great characters with plenty to appreciate in the villager’s personal lives as well as the central murder. Although I wouldn’t say this was the best book in the series it is a thoroughly enjoyable read.

The previous books in this series are

The Ice Princess
The Preacher
The Stonecutter
The Stranger
The Hidden Child
The Drowning

Each book can be read as a stand-alone, I actually started with The Hidden Child which was a fantastic read, but to understand all the relationships between the villagers and the police, they are much better read in sequence.

Click the book cover to read my review of The Stonecutter

The Stonecutter

Author:

A book lover who clearly has issues as obsessed with crime despite leading a respectable life

7 thoughts on “The Lost Boy – Camilla Läckberg

    1. I haven’t read a lot of Scandinavian crime but got hooked on this series. Very unusually for me I have read them out of order as I was given a free copy of number 5 The Hidden Child then went back to the beginning…. They are definitely worth taking a look at.

  1. I read the first few in the series and loved them. I am completely on the Scandinavian crime bandwagon. I love it. This sounds like one I’ll have to request from the library (and Erica has twins now, last I read she only had Maja!).

  2. I read The Stranger first and really enjoyed it. When I get a chance I intend to start at the beginning of the series, so it’ll be a while before I get to this one…

Leave a Reply, I love hearing what you have to say

