Posted in Books I want to Read

To be released August 2013

One of my favourite pastimes is looking for books that are due to be released and add them to my ever increasing wishlist.

Books due to be released in August 2013 that have caught my eye are:

Never Coming Back – Tim Weaver
Blurb:
Never Coming Back is the brilliant new missing persons case in the David Raker series by Tim Weaver.
A SECRET THAT WILL CHANGE LIVES FOREVER

It was supposed to be the start of a big night out. But when Emily Kane arrives at her sister Carrie’s house, she finds the front door unlocked and no one inside. Dinner’s cooking, the TV’s on. Carrie, her husband and their two daughters are gone.

When the police draw a blank, Emily asks missing persons investigator David Raker to find them. It’s clear someone doesn’t want the family found.

But as he gets closer to the truth, Raker begins to uncover evidence of a sinister cover-up, spanning decades and costing countless lives. And worse, in trying to find Emily’s missing family, he might just have made himself the next target …I read Vanished the previous novel in the David Raker Series, and was really impressed by the clever plot line.
see my brief review on Goodreads VanishedVanished by Tim Weaver
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Sam Wren’s life is full of secrets but which one led to him getting onto the tube one morning never to be seen again? David Raker, Private Investigator, is contacted by Sam’s wife Julia to find answers. What follows is a master piece in thriller writing. There is a cast of well defined characters, a bunch of secrets that may or may not lead to answers and enough twists and turns to keep you reading. This isn’t a book for the faint-hearted though. There is a lot of violence so well described you’ll be flinching.

I really wish I’d read Tim Weaver’s first two books in this series before this one as there are references to a previous case which David Raker and Police Officer Healy were involved in. I will be seeking out Chasing the Dead and The Dead Tracks to see what I have been missing.

View all my reviews

No Man’s Nightingale – Ruth Rendall

Blurb:
Sarah Hussain was not popular with many people in the community of Kingsmarkham. She was born of mixed parentage – a white Irishwoman and an immigrant Indian Hindu. She was also the Reverend of St Peter’s Church.

But it comes as a profound shock to everyone when she is found strangled in the Vicarage.

A garrulous cleaner, Maxine, also shared by the Wexfords, discovers the body. In his comparatively recent retirement, the former Detective Chief Inspector is devoting much time to reading, and is deep into Edward Gibbon’s The Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire. He has little patience with Maxine’s prattle.

But when his old friend Mike Burden asks if he might like to assist on this case as Crime Solutions Adviser (unpaid), Wexford is obliged to pay more precise attention to all available information.

The old instincts have not been blunted by a life where he and Dora divide their time between London and Kingsmarkham. Wexford retains a relish for solving puzzles and a curiosity about people which is invaluable in detective work.

For all his experience and sophistication, Burden tends to jump to conclusions. But he is wise enough to listen to the man whose office he inherited, and whose experience makes him a most formidable ally.

I just can’t pass by the 24th Inspector Wexford Novel and although I do agree with the viewpoint that some of Ruth Rendall’s stories can now appear a little dated I for one still love them and will be forever grateful for each new one that is published.

The Keeper – Luke Delaney

Blurb:

The second novel in the DI Sean Corrigan series – authentic and terrifying crime fiction with a psychological edge, by an ex-Met detective. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Peter James and Stuart MacBride.

Thomas Keller knows exactly who he’s looking for…

They tried to keep them apart, but when he finds her, he’s going to keep her. Just like he knows she wants him to.

DI Sean Corrigan is not like other detectives. His dark past has given him the ability to step into a crime scene and see it through the offender’s eyes. He understands what drives a person to commit terrible acts – but sometimes his gift feels more like a curse.

When women start disappearing from their homes in broad daylight, Corrigan’s Murder Investigation Team is reluctant to take on a missing persons case. But then the first body turns up, and Corrigan knows he must quickly get into the mind of the murderer. Because this killer knows exactly who he wants. And he won’t stop until he finds her.

This has made it onto my list just from the blurb and the fact that I am a huge fan of Mark Billingham and Peter James

Author:

A book lover who clearly has issues as obsessed with crime despite leading a respectable life

Leave a Reply, I love hearing what you have to say

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.